User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Diagnostix will not fit!

  1. #1
    Regular Member SteveBray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Question Diagnostix will not fit!

    I tried to fit the Diagnostic box on Saturday and only the connection to the end of the common rail was possible, the other connector will not fully slide into the existing vauxhall connector. It appears that the plastic is a little too thick and will not allow a secure connection and no amount of pressure will persuade the connectors to hold together.

    Has anyone else experienced this, if so what did you do? I am undecided between returning the box for a replacement via post or going to see them in person next Saturday, if they are open that is.

    I have had the car just over a year (since it was 3 months old at a £7000 saving) and my overall average mpg is just over 45, this includes about 40% short distannce urban travel and the rest as decent length journeys of all types. Previously had the 2.2 Dti superchipped, averaged about 41 mpg and found it to be quick but not as quick as the standard 16V is now and also a lot less refined. I have the Irmscher grill with stainless strip across the top, I really think it improves the looks, I think the standard grill with the oversize V is a little too much.

  2. #2
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Failsworth, Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    It looks like there's a few guys with the same, if not similar problem as you Steve. Give them a call and see what they say. The next time I'm in their neck of the woods I'm going to stop by and have a chat. I introduced them to Vec-C, so I'll see what's going on.

  3. #3
    Ex-Staff Full Member ian_c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : i500

    Trim : i500

    Engine : V6 3.0CDTi

    Year : 2005

    Default

    steve y dont you come over to the rolling road on saturday in chorley and tri one of tunit boxs on your vec

    you wont be messing about with the unit cause they will fit it,laptop tunit and R/Road plus tunit boxs are giving the most out of there units

    4 week ago on a saab 1.9cdti they got 186bhp not bad

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Had the same problem with mine.You need to get a stanley knife and 'shave' off the excess plastic.
    Not too much though, you want it to be a tight fit.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Because the Bosch 1 connection system is used on many different injection systems, inc the CDTi of course, the corresponding plug may need a very fine shave to make fit, not too much of a job I am sure, if you want to come over to our new workshop we will fit it for you, no problems....we will answer any queries any one has, all you have to do is call our office.

  6. #6
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Failsworth, Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    There you go, a full explanation. I knew they wouldn't let us down.

    Can you clear up the V6 CDTi connectors for us mate. Where exactly it connects to etc? Pics would be good if you have them.

  7. #7
    Regular Member SteveBray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Shop visit I think

    Thank you all for the feedback.

    ian_c if I had not just purchased the Diagnostix unit I would definetly have come to the rolling road event, your avatar is quite distracting, I find myself returning to it a little too often.

    I have just emailed Diagnostix for their opening hours, I will visit them and let them fit the unit, I would hate to shave too much off the connector and be left with a useless piece of kit.

    Oh and can I hell get the platic engine cover back on, any hints from anyone?

  8. #8
    Regular Member Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Tyne & Wear
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Easy, I had the same trouble till you figure it out.

    As you can see the cover fits over some rubber 'bungs'. What you need to do is pull these off the engine. They just push on, over metal studs. Once off, slid them into the cover and pop it all back on. Much easier.

  9. #9
    Regular Member Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Tyne & Wear
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Echo..... Echo..... Echo........

  10. #10
    Regular Member SteveBray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Thumbs up I see!

    Thank you, you guys are really on the ball, thought I would not get a reply for hours or even days, thought I was the only one who be online at this time, I am at work in front of a PC all day but assumed most are not.

    I spent 30 minutes trying to push that cover back onto the rubber bungs, I never considered trying to remove the bungs, I can now put the cover back on when I get home tonight.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Diagnostix UK
    By AJA in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 13th May 2006, 20:36
  2. Diagnostix box £71 !!!!!!
    By Caterman in forum General Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th October 2005, 20:23
  3. Diagnostix Help
    By Maverick in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 30th September 2005, 20:19
  4. Diagnostix
    By chrismiller in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 31st August 2005, 20:22

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •