User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Diagnostic socket not working

  1. #1
    Regular Member Gortreck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Diagnostic socket not working

    Hi All

    I had the AA out yesterday to finally diagnose my engine problem (squeeling noise and EM light) As correctly said by someone on here it was my auxillery belt tensioner that had gone, so i will get that into the garage soon to get fixed. However, the AA guy could not get his diagnostic tool to work with my car. It worked straight away when he plugged it into his van. I mentioned it a while back but never got round to having it looked at further. Any ideas what would cause the socket itself not to have any output?

    Cheers
    Tony

  2. #2
    Regular Member Ademusic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Dunstable
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Could be a dirty contact. It sits below the ashtray and if this has been used, ash can desposit under the tray as I've found in both my veccys. Failing that, if it's all clean then may be worth trying some switch cleaner on it to clean the contacts. Hopefully someone else can throw up some suggestions to help you.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Wirral
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : Design

    Engine : 1.9CDTi

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : Lots

    Default

    What engine is in the car? The DTi engines don't really like talking to anything apart from Vaux-COM or Tech2 although I'd expect the AA tools to work.

    EDIT:

    Just looked on your profile. 2.2 DTi. One of the difficult ones. Try and find someone local to you with Tech2 or Vaux/OP COM to test the socket.

  4. #4
    Regular Member slipperysam1984's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Bournemouth
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gortreck View Post
    Hi All

    I had the AA out yesterday to finally diagnose my engine problem (squeeling noise and EM light) As correctly said by someone on here it was my auxillery belt tensioner that had gone, so i will get that into the garage soon to get fixed. However, the AA guy could not get his diagnostic tool to work with my car. It worked straight away when he plugged it into his van. I mentioned it a while back but never got round to having it looked at further. Any ideas what would cause the socket itself not to have any output?

    Cheers
    Tony
    i had the aa look at my car once and no errors came up.

    there kit can't read it, put op-com on worked fine

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. radio working, not working, working again
    By J P S in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 22nd February 2012, 00:59
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10th November 2011, 22:58
  3. Sat nav not working (12v socket?)
    By Beats76 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23rd April 2011, 19:11
  4. diagnostic help
    By smartymarty1971 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 3rd June 2009, 00:29
  5. Diagnostic
    By Ste in forum General Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22nd September 2008, 17:17

Visitors found this page by searching for:

vectra c diagnostic socket

vectra c not connecting to diagnostic

vectra c obd socket not working

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •