User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Broken springs - advice needed !

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

Default Broken springs - advice needed !

Hi, newbie here so please go easy . I know a 'bit' about cars but I'm no expert so hopefully you more knowledgeable folk on here will be able to help me decide what to do for the best.... any sugestions and advice would be really welcome...

My Vectra's 5th annual service was done at a pukka VX dealership today where they tell me the OSF spring is broken. Yep, it certainly looks it but it's only the last 4.5 inches off the bottom where it sits in the tray.. in fact they handed it to me . The car sits and drives OK and I couldn't tell it was faulty ! They advise me to replace both front springs as it's possible in the meantime the spring may pop out and shred the tyre. I've read that can happen so I am looking to get them done.

I suspect the breakage may be down to the powder coating peeling off and then the metal rusting away as it sits in the bottom of the tray. The car is these days only used as a round town runabout (appx 3,500 miles a year) by my wife and never really gets up to any great speed to blow away any water that may have gathered (unless I take it out for a drive ).

The dealership has quoted me £321 inc VAT & fitting to replace both front springs which seems a lot... ?

I'm considering asking an experienced car mechanic friend to do them for me to save a few quid (even more if I can help him fit them ) but thought about taking the opportunity to go for a better brand and even lowering the car...

It's a 2.2 (NON-direct) Petrol, Elegance Hatch, Sep 2002 so one of the first of the Vectra Cs - just under 36k on the clock and I've owned it since it was 9 months old with 4k on it. I intend to keep it another 2 years approx.

I've a few questions about what to do next...