User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Garmin i3 Streetpilot

  1. #1
    Regular Member Spikeyİ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    In the sponge-monkey tent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Garmin i3 Streetpilot

    Anybody got one of these? Mine arrived today and I have a couple of questions:

    1. How accurate are your maps? I don't seem to be able to see any roads smaller than MAJOR A or trunk roads.

    2. How the heck do you enter postcodes? Followed the instructions but it seems you have to select the country first, well the UK isn't listed so how on earth do you manage it?

  2. #2
    Regular Member Bethan39's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    South Wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Streetpilot

    Hiya M8 I Have One Dunno About The Maps Just Yet! Whe You Press Wher To? Then Address Select Country Is Either Cymru,England Or Scotland Or Another Country Then It Will Ask For A Postcode Or Address. Hope That Helps. I've Also Put On More Points Of Interset And The Speed Camera Locations Which Is Very Handy.

    Regards Mike

  3. #3
    Regular Member Spikeyİ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    In the sponge-monkey tent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bethan39
    Hiya M8 I Have One Dunno About The Maps Just Yet! Whe You Press Wher To? Then Address Select Country Is Either Cymru,England Or Scotland Or Another Country Then It Will Ask For A Postcode Or Address. Hope That Helps. I've Also Put On More Points Of Interset And The Speed Camera Locations Which Is Very Handy.

    Regards Mike
    I've put the speed camera locations on and they work fine when in drive mode. None of those British countries are listed, if you select any of the other Euro countries, it expects you to input a postcode from that country and in it's format.

    Just a bit lost with it at the moment. Excuse the pun.

  4. #4
    Regular Member sph73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Market Drayton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Ive got one mate and in the countries mine also has England Scotland and Wales to choose from, then postcode entry, then house number etc.

  5. #5
    Regular Member Spikeyİ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    In the sponge-monkey tent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    So i wonder why mine doesn't have the home countries listed...emailed Garmin support today so see what they have to say, if i have no joy there i'll be banging on Ebuyer's door.

  6. #6
    Regular Member sph73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Market Drayton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    There are updates on garmins site I did all these and a couple of countries were added to mine. I don't know if these would make our countries appear if you put all the updates on, because when you update the Garmin it doesn't just add the extras it deletes everything then adds the updates in full.

  7. #7
    Regular Member Spikeyİ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    In the sponge-monkey tent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sph73
    There are updates on garmins site I did all these and a couple of countries were added to mine. I don't know if these would make our countries appear if you put all the updates on, because when you update the Garmin it doesn't just add the extras it deletes everything then adds the updates in full.
    I tried this and the only thing it updated was the firmware for the unit itself.

    Had an email back from Garmin Tech support, you'll laugh at this (edited to fit Q&As together:

    Spikeyİ - I've bought the UK i3 from www.ebuyer.co.uk...

    Garmin Girl - Im thinking that the person that sold you the unit has not sold you a uk unit. Where did you purchase it from? Do you know the country of the ebayer? If it is from the england then it will cover the UK and Ireland.

    ------

    Spikeyİ - I'm having trouble entering postcodes as to start with you have to select the country before you enter the code and my problem is that none of the UK countries (UK, England, Scotland, Wales or Ireland) are listed on the menu.

    Garmin Girl - You need to start typing in the country for it to give you options on the country. Then you can go on to type in the post code.

    -----

    So i'm thinking I might not be getting much help there...

  8. #8
    Regular Member sph73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Market Drayton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Garmin Muppets

    When I click the wheel for " Address " it goes to the countries there are three belgiums then channel islands then cyrmru then england then loads more . You can see England without having to scroll the screen down I just click done then go to it and thats it .
    There is def something wrong if its not there mate .

  9. #9
    Regular Member Bethan39's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    South Wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thats Exactly The Same On Mine. I Wonder If There Is Any Third Party Sites That You Can Upload New Maps From?. Might Be Worth A Look First.

  10. #10
    Regular Member Spikeyİ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    In the sponge-monkey tent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Think I might have burnt my bridges with Garmin suport lol, after the stupid reply I got back from them, in the heat of the moment I sent back:

    Excuse me, but, did you actually read the original question? Do you know anything about the products you are supporting, specifically anything technical? Is this asking too much from the technical support department?

    Think I might have had one too many Stellas when I replied to the idiot.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. sat nav..tom tom or garmin
    By studmuffin in forum General Chat
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 24th November 2009, 09:05
  2. Garmin Streetpilot 3i
    By Islander in forum General items for sale
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 28th August 2007, 14:03
  3. Garmin I3
    By sph73 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18th April 2006, 11:15

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •