Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

Default Repairing written off cars ??

Hi all, ive seen a few threads on here and I know a certian member posted
    pics up of a few write offs he had repaired himself.

Why ?

I love working with cars abd messing and although Im no pro mechanic, ive done some heavy jobs, engines in/out and HG/chain changes etc and really enjoy it ! Having the C now, means no jobs whereas my old B's always needed stuff messing with ! lol

Question ?

What is involved, what is there to look out for ? Does the V5 say its previously been written off or something ?

Thank !!!

Problems Posted
    Problems Solved
    Best Answers
    Good Answers
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

the V5 states what category write off it was, but only if its been claimed on insurance. If not they don't know.. however I presume it would be fraud and you would be liable to manslaughter if someone died in an accident and they proved you had lied.

An accident repaired car will never be as structurally sound as a standard car, so they tend to sell for cheaper. I think unless your getting a new smashed up car for next to nothing, making money is going to be pretty hard, baring in mind after telling the DVLA its an ex write off it will bring the price down.

I was going to repair my Neon after smashing it up on the autobahn, but it had dinks in the roof meaning that the stucture had probably twisted.. wouldnt want to be driving that around again lol.

But yeah thats what I kind of picked up on the way. But if you pick up a car thats had a mild front crash (from the owner not a breaker as it would cost more) then why not? Good project

Problems Posted
    Problems Solved
    Best Answers
    Good Answers
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

Vehicle : Jaguar XF 3.0D V6

Trim : Black