User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Fit brake pad wear sensor without removing pads?

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Nottinghamshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Fit brake pad wear sensor without removing pads?

    Today I fitted some new brake pads. Unfortunately, the brake pad wear sensor broke when I took it out of the old pad.

    I hadn't bought a new sensor because I thought the old one would come out OK (the pads aren't work down, just being replaced because they squeal) and the local dealer was closed for stocktaking!

    This meant I had to put the brakes back together without the wear sensor in place.

    Can anyone tell me if they have ever fitted a new wear sensor without having to remove the caliper and pads? I was wondering if there was enough access through the hole in the caliper (where the wear sensor wire goes through) or whether I was going to have to take the whole thing apart again once the dealer can sell me a new wear sensor!

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Nottinghamshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default


  3. #3
    Regular Member gtr1000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Carmarthen
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia

    Trim : Sri

    Engine : 140 Ecoflex S/S

    Year : 2013

    Default

    IMO, I'd say you going to have to pull the pads out again. Sorry mate .

    Hey, but I might be wrong. Hopefully someone else will post up.

  4. #4
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Plymouth
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    when glen and i done mine... there did seem to be enough room to play with that sensor with only having to remove the wheel

  5. #5
    Regular Member macdad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    East Midlands
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    yes you can 100% change the wear sensor without taking the pads out..it just slots into place through the gap..make sure you get the right sensor though,there are 2 one with the long wire and one with a shorter length wire hth.

  6. #6
    Regular Member Penfold101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Combination of Preston and Oxfordshire...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Or just snip the wires, strip them back, join them together and wrap electrical tape round them... Never have to waste a tenner on a sensor which no-one who knows anything about cars should need... You just look at them...

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Nottinghamshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I don't fancy the short-circuiting method of bypassing the sensor because knowing me I'll forget to check the brakes at some point. I wish I'd done it as a temporary measure though because the 'brake pad wear' warning light is getting on my nerves after just one day!

    I'll get a new cable tomorrow and see if I can put the new sensor into the brake pad without removing the caliper as a few people think it is possible. I guess I can sit the sensor in the recess in the pad then push it in using a screwdriver on the flat surface of the sensor next to where the cable goes in.

    I'll let everyone know how it goes in case is comes in handy for someone else.

  8. #8
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Plymouth
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    what makes me go ????

    is when glen and i did the brakes... the one pad with the sensor was the one with the most left on it... once it indicated that i needed new breaks i wouldnt of had a disc left on the drivers side!

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Nottinghamshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Diet1985 View Post
    what makes me go ????

    is when glen and i did the brakes... the one pad with the sensor was the one with the most left on it... once it indicated that i needed new breaks i wouldnt of had a disc left on the drivers side!
    I agree - a brake pad wear sensor on one pad of one wheel is no substitute for regular checks of all pads and disks.

  10. #10
    Regular Member jonnybravo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    barnsley,yorkshire,GB
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum


    Engine : 20 Dti


    Default

    Hi James
    yes you can fit sensor with wheel off,just make sure you route the new one in correct place

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Brake wear sensor. Should my car have one?
    By Big Dave in forum Suspension, Wheels & Brakes
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 22nd May 2013, 10:40
  2. Brake wear sensor put where?
    By kenp in forum Suspension, Wheels & Brakes
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 28th August 2012, 23:33
  3. brake wear sensor
    By dazza2393 in forum Suspension, Wheels & Brakes
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 17th June 2010, 22:30
  4. Brake wear sensor
    By Guyver1 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2nd December 2008, 20:33

Visitors found this page by searching for:

vectra c brake pad sensor

vectra c brake wear sensor

vauxhall vectra c brake pad sensor

how to remove brake wear indicator vectra c

how to fit a brake sensor on a vectra

how to change the brake wire sensor of opel corsa c

vauxhall vectra c pad wear sensor fit brake padshow to remove the low break sensor on vectra cpad wear indicator vectra c locationvectra b brake wear sensor fittingvectra dti replace front brake pad sensor replacevectra c brake pad wear sensorhow to fit vauxhall vectra brake pad sensorAstra g pads wear sensor retrofitvectra c brake pad wear sensor changebrake pad wear indicatorHow to replace brake wear sensor Astra Ghow to fix a vauxhall vectra brake sensorvauxhall vectra dti brake pad wear sensorsvectra c brake pad sensor bypasshow to replace vectra brake sensorbrake sensor vauxhall vectra cvectra c front brake pad sensorfitting a brake sensor vectra

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •