User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: TOM TOM maps

  1. #1
    Regular Member Harry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Uxbridge, London
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default TOM TOM maps

    Hi all,

    Does anyone know if the maps for a PDA can be loaded onto an SD card and put into a tom tom GO 300??? Is there any reason why it wouldn't work, are they in different formats?

    Failing this, can anyone recommend a place where they have bought european maps for the tom tom.

    cheers

  2. #2
    Regular Member jonnye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Derby
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    the maps are the same for both, however if the maps are not genuine then the 300 may ask for a activation code

  3. #3
    Regular Member SignumPhil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Luton, Beds
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yep, that's right.
    A friend went from a PDA based version to a TomTom 1, and the maps installed straight on the 1. It asked for an activation code, but it's easy enough to re-register on the Tom Tom registration website.

    Phil

  4. #4
    Regular Member The Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    'Norf Yorks.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Its not actually the maps that throw up the activation code. It is the TomTom software itself. I had a 'test' version of TomTom 5.01 on my Mini S PDA, worked great after minor botching. Upgrading to TomTom 5.20 and it suddenley asked for activation for my previous maps. De-graded again sod it

  5. #5
    Regular Member Harry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Uxbridge, London
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    cheers guys, i'll give it a go and see what happens.

    not keen on spending 150 quid on a SD card with the maps on.

  6. #6
    Regular Member The Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    'Norf Yorks.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Give me a shout if you need any map

  7. #7
    Regular Member Harry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Uxbridge, London
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    will do, cheers John.

  8. #8
    Regular Member jonnye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Derby
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    you can copy the tomtom ones on to sd card, put the uk plus and france plus on to a 1gb card and alls well

  9. #9
    Regular Member Geoshaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Armadale (West Lothian)
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CDTi
    Give me a shout if you need any map
    You wouldn't happen to have a tom tom map for florida would you?

  10. #10
    Regular Member Harry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Uxbridge, London
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i think i might be able to sort you out George, but i don't have my work laptop with me so i can't install the maps from the dvd that i've got.

    going round my brothers tonight so should be able to sort it there.

    what have you got George, a GO or a PDA?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. PS3 MW3 new maps
    By johnnyboy1985 in forum Games Room
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 26th March 2012, 23:38
  2. bsr maps
    By slick91 in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20th July 2009, 13:52
  3. re maps
    By andys964 in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 6th July 2009, 12:37
  4. Anyone used E-Maps...
    By Dan_BlackSRi in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28th January 2009, 19:42
  5. BSR Maps
    By FIL 4822 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 30th December 2007, 21:30

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •