User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Harman Kardon Drive + play

  1. #1
    Regular Member 1.9Cdti Elite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Dawlish
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia

    Trim : Elite 160 Navi

    Engine : 2.0 CDTi

    Year : 2011

    Mileage : 38,000

    Default Harman Kardon Drive + play

    Has anyone fitted one of these kits? and if so where have you mounted the screen and controller? some pics would be nice if poss!

    I have just recieved this kit and I am puzled as to where I can mount the stuff in an Elite.

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    sunderland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I mounted screen on top of dash in far right corner and controller on front slope of armrest just behind cup holder compartment. Sorry no pics as wife has car at work with her.

  3. #3
    Regular Member Beavis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Blackburn Lancashire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I fitted mine in the ashtray

    pics on here

    http://www.vectra-c.com/forum/showthread.php?t=18700

  4. #4
    Regular Member 1.9Cdti Elite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Dawlish
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia

    Trim : Elite 160 Navi

    Engine : 2.0 CDTi

    Year : 2011

    Mileage : 38,000

    Default

    Beavis you sly dog! I'm really impressed with your ingenuity, How is the screen fixed in place? Have you used the mounting hardware that it came with?

  5. #5
    Regular Member FuzzyOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    When I had mine I fitted the screen in the right hand corner of the dash, the controller went behind the glovebox.

  6. #6
    Regular Member cameraman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Leicester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default



    In the end I gave up with mine, I've still got 2 full kits minus the ipod cables, they just kept breaking, the controller boxes were fitted behind the heater panel, powered off the cigarette lighter & glovebox light, ipod in the glovebox

  7. #7
    Regular Member Beavis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Blackburn Lancashire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 1.9Cdti Elite View Post
    Beavis you sly dog! I'm really impressed with your ingenuity, How is the screen fixed in place? Have you used the mounting hardware that it came with?
    Hi no it slides into the end of the ashtray housing and it is just the right size to grip it!!
    I bought a secondhand ashtray complete off e-bay and cut it up till it fitted

    this way you can still remove it to get to the diagnostic plug underneath

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Reading
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Beavis, great minds and all that, mine is fitted pretty much the same way as yours, quite good when anyone get s in the car too, does anyone using these kits have the same interference problem that I have, also fitted an FM amplifier, so have fakra to standard, into HK, into amplifier, into fakra, into headunit, and still get FM hiss, got it set to 88.7 as that seemed the best, any ideas anyone.
    Cheers
    Mark

  9. #9
    Regular Member John C S's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Gangsta crossover on the drive? Check
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 137mph View Post
    and still get FM hiss, got it set to 88.7 as that seemed the best, any ideas anyone.
    Cheers
    Mark
    I use a Belkin Tunebase FM and find that 88.7 or 88.8 are the best frequencies.

    I think these items work better down the lower FM frequencies. Not sure why though??

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Barnsley
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Does the Belkin TuneBase fit in the cigarette lighter socket ok? I am thinking about getting one but was wondering if this would be a problem in the Vectra with the socket not being directly on the dashboard?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. iPod 20gb + Harmon Kardon Drive+Play
    By FuzzyOne in forum General items for sale
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9th May 2009, 12:51
  2. Harman Kardon Drive And Play Fit Cd70?
    By Robbie69 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 5th September 2008, 17:03
  3. Harman/Kardon IPOD Drive + Play
    By deanos in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 21st July 2008, 19:43
  4. Harmon Kardon Play + Drive system ?
    By Draggon in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 5th December 2006, 10:16
  5. Harmon Kardon Drive & Play (IPOD integration)
    By greeningr in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th February 2006, 16:35

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •