User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Toshiba A30 help please!!

  1. #1
    Regular Member purple170503's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    kent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Toshiba A30 help please!!

    Hi, hoping that someone could help me out here. I have just bought the above laptop from a friend but want to get it so I can use wifi. Unfortunately it hasn't got a card inside but there is a section for one to be installed and also has a built in switch to turn it on/off. Is there a specific one I have to get and could anyone tell me how to install it and/or recommend one? I dont want one with an external aerial thingy.

    Also I want to upgrade the RAM, I know how to do that but wonder if anyone has any suggestions on best place to buy it nowadays.I looked at Cruciall who I have used before and they want just under £90 to upgrade to 2GB. I thought that was a tad expensive.

    Thanks


  2. #2
    Full Member paul.sessions's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    leighton buzzard
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    try to get it from misco thats far to expensive..lol
    it will be a pcmcia or an express card look on the toshiba website to find out which one you need....what about usb??

  3. #3
    Regular Member bruceybonus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Preston Area
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats






  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Worcs/Staffs/Westmids (ish)
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Note - Avoid Intel Pro Wireless if you use a BT home hub, big compatibility issues on some cards! fixable by firmware upgrade to the router, but easier just to avoid it.

  5. #5
    Regular Member purple170503's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    kent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Hi Thanks to all for the advice. I dont want a USB one as it only has two USB ports and when the dongle is in you can't plug anything else in so the card is the only option for me.

  6. #6
    Regular Member nikroc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    DERBY
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : 2t

    Trim : standard

    Engine : z20net

    Year : 08

    Mileage : 32000

    Default

    if you have a 'switch' are you sure its not wifi enabled?...look in your manual...
    you can get add ins if you feel inclined,ie specific to laptop and fits internally.

    Personaly Ihave used a variety of pcmi cards with no troubles at all,cost approx£10-£15.Plug n play..almost.

    Re. ur memory..do you know what specific memory your unit takes?..you could look it up on the website.Are you sure it'll take 2 gig?..some wont.

    Abit of investigating may save money n energy..hth

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    North west
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Your wireless card could be disabled under device manager, (im guessing windows xp) left click "My Computer" then right click properties, hardware, device manager. Look under heading "Network Adapters" If the + sign is visible and you cannot see the individual items automatically then everything is ok. If the heading is expanded any problem device will have a yellow symbol (meaning device driver issue) or red cross (device disabled by user). People without a wireless hook up disable wireless to stop annoying pop ups and speed things up. Worth a look.

  8. #8
    Regular Member purple170503's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    kent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Hi, unfortunately this model was never wifi ready and was an upgrade which my friend never took, Im not moaning as only paid him £50 but would like to get a card. Just wondered how easy it was.Gonna try and get one from ebay. Thanks for all the advice.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. samsung or toshiba ??
    By nigec in forum General Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11th January 2011, 12:45
  2. Toshiba 42" rear projection TV
    By the_wave_rider in forum General items for sale
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8th June 2010, 19:46
  3. FSale: Toshiba Laptop
    By Leviathan in forum How much is it worth? (THIS SECTION IS NOW CLOSED)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th November 2008, 23:36
  4. Toshiba Satellite M50 laptop for sale.
    By gizmo10119 in forum General items for sale
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29th October 2007, 22:28

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •