User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Rocker gasket on a Corsa....

  1. #1
    Regular Member Harry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Uxbridge, London
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Rocker gasket on a Corsa....

    Hi guys/gals,

    I'm going to give the girlfriend's Corsa a mini service this weekend, usual stuff, oil, oil filter, air filter, sparks and a thorough clean as its filthy, both inside and out.

    The engine is the 1.0 litre variety and it suffers with a leaking rocker gasket, especially on the front left corner (if you're looking at the engine).

    I bought a new gasket from VX and got the required torque rating of the bolts, something like 8 Nm, or 2-3 lbs.

    Now, this may seem a daft question but how do you use a torque wrench, is it as simple as turning the shaft of the thing until you get to the correct figure??

    Is there anything else that i should change as well as the gasket in order to cure the leak.

    The guy at the parts desk that i should get the oil pressure checked as there may be underlying reason for the leak - which i think there must be as the gasket has been changed before (apparently) about a year ago.

    any advice is most welcome.

    p.s. sorry if this upsets some peeps as its not a Vectra chat, but the Corsa is still family.

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Regular Member Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Tyne & Wear
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Turn the dial on the wrench the correct setting then just use it like a normal wrench. When you reach the level of tightness needed, it just clicks and wont tighten anymore.

    8nm isnt a lot so dont be suprised it it doesnt need much.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Wirral
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    With regards to the Torque wrench turn it until it "clicks" , or if you have the other type of torque wrench with settings across the top then turn it until the marker is on the correct setting. make sure both faces are clean and free of burrs etc before fitting the new gasket. My wife also has a Corsa which I normally do the servicing on until this year when I put it in the Garage to be fixed and it cost me £300 so its not going there again. The wifes corsa has only done 12000 miles in 4 years.

  4. #4
    Regular Member Harry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Uxbridge, London
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Andy
    8nm isnt a lot so dont be suprised it it doesnt need much.
    Yeah - the guy behind the counter said that it wouldn't need much, which got me wondering, should i check the tightness of the bolts at the moment before changing the gasket or is it not feasible the the bolts would've loosened up?!?

    How much should i expect to pay for a torque wrench, and can i use all my usual sockets with it, 1/4 inch?

    Quote Originally Posted by Paulieg
    My wife also has a Corsa which I normally do the servicing on until this year when I put it in the Garage to be fixed and it cost me £300 so its not going there again. The wifes corsa has only done 12000 miles in 4 years.
    last year my girlfriend let her brothers mate do the service, he works at Vx garage, cost her 150 quid total as he did it in his spare time, which makes me wonder what was actually done.

  5. #5
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Harry
    How much should i expect to pay for a torque wrench, and can i use all my usual sockets with it, 1/4 inch?
    A decent torque wrench can cost anywhere £25-£120+. It all depends on it's range, accuracy and size. You can get them in 3/8", 1/4" and even 1/2" sizes. I got a Draper 1/2" version (30-210Nm) for about £40 as I wanted it mainly for doing wheels - and it covers a range that is pretty useful on a car.I can always use a convertor to go down to 3/8" sockets. Ideally, I'll end up complementing it with a 3/8 version in a lower range - like the 10-80Nm one. This is the one that I got....



    Have a look at this PDF page from the Draper site and you can see the range that they offer. You'll see there is a Precision range, with prices that shoot up! For general car stuff you don't need that. The standard range will do just fine.

    As for your particular case, the minimum range Draper do is down to 10Nm. 8Nm is such a slight amount that you could probably just give it a slight tighten by hand and it would be enough. If you went for one of the 10-80 for example, an extra 2Nm souldn't be a big issue. It is, in theory, an extra 25% torque, but I shouldn't imagine it would be a problem.

    HTH

    D

  6. #6
    Regular Member Harry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Uxbridge, London
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    cheers for the info Duncan, i had been browsing the Draper site, their torque wrench had been highly praised on another website where they compared all sorts of branded tools. Funnily enough, the Halfords one came out top in the performance department, it was just the 50 quid price tag that let it down.

    Is it good practise when tightening up the bolts to work from the middle outwards and tighten up on alternating sides of the block?

  7. #7
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    On a cam cover yes.. is it the 3 pot engine or four harry??

    the cam cover seals have a bladed edge so any small piece of crud will cause a leak..a THIN wipe of silicone sealer will help as well, but clean all the oil off the camcase first..

    excess oil pressure will not make the seal leak.. too much crankcase pressure caused by blocked breathers will force oil past the seal.. you need to check the hoses and pipes that connect the head to the crankcase and the camcover to the inlet manifold for any blockages..this will cause the pressure to build up.

  8. #8
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Harry
    cheers for the info Duncan, i had been browsing the Draper site, their torque wrench had been highly praised on another website where they compared all sorts of branded tools. Funnily enough, the Halfords one came out top in the performance department, it was just the 50 quid price tag that let it down.
    No probs. Yes, the Draper wrenches are good ones as are, as you said, the Halfords Pro ones. I went for the Draper as it's all metal (no plastic windows etc. to break) and had a slightly wider range either end. It's also cheaper than the Halfords one which, as you said, are on the slightly pricey side.

    I'm bringing it to PVS but I don't think you're coming are you? Could've let you see the style/quality in the flesh.

    D

  9. #9
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder GARY3306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ashington, Northumberland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gsi3.2
    On a cam cover yes.. is it the 3 pot engine or four harry??

    the cam cover seals have a bladed edge so any small piece of crud will cause a leak..a THIN wipe of silicone sealer will help as well, but clean all the oil off the camcase first..

    excess oil pressure will not make the seal leak.. too much crankcase pressure caused by blocked breathers will force oil past the seal.. you need to check the hoses and pipes that connect the head to the crankcase and the camcover to the inlet manifold for any blockages..this will cause the pressure to build up.
    Beat me to it. This is a very common cause on the earlier corsas. IIRC the breather pipe comes in to the rear of the rocker box. Take the pipe off and have a look. If it is full of black gungy cr@p, then that will cause the rocker cover gasket to leak. If it's too bad, it will also run like pig.
    I did one about two month ago at work, same thing, leaky rocker cover, rough running, carried out the above and it was like a new motor. Good luck
    [SIGPIC]VX<font color=Red>R</font> with added Courtenay <img src=https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.png border=0 alt= title=Big Grin class=inlineimg />

  10. #10
    Regular Member The Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    'Norf Yorks.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Halfords Pro kit is excellent, my garage is kitted out with that and Snap On.

    I personally use the Halfords Pro kit for the smaller tasks like rocker covers and minor torque things, but use the Snap On digitial when rebuilding an engine.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. rocker cover gasket
    By SarahP in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10th October 2012, 16:12
  2. 1.9 CDTI 150 - Rocker cover gasket change
    By Gavin2.6 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 5th October 2012, 17:36
  3. Rocker Cover Gasket Leak Symptoms?
    By john506 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th September 2012, 19:04
  4. rocker cover gasket
    By crainer85 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th August 2012, 20:06
  5. Rocker cover gasket
    By stevie1 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19th May 2009, 06:48

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •