User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Losing power!!

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Losing power!!

    Hi Guys.Hope someone can help with this problem.Motorway driving on friday night and my car (Vectra C Estate 2.0 Dti - 125k miles) lost power at around 60 mph and the service light came on (Light with car and spanner through it).

    I then couldn't accelerate beyond around 60 mph - 2750 rpm.Managed to come off the motorway and turned the engine off,which seemed to clear the problem for a while,but have just made a trip to Ikea and the problem has appeared again.I also noticed this time that on a normal road when accelerating that it's now also doing it.Under normal road conditions the car seems to run fine but accelerate more than usual and the car just loses power until I switch off the engine.

    If anyone could shed some light on this I would be very grateful,either with what you think the problem is or where I start looking.Thanks a million guys in advance.

    John (bigjjfaetheyy)
    Last edited by bigjjfaetheyy; 25th October 2009 at 15:38.

  2. #2
    Regular Member jonnybravo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    barnsley,yorkshire,GB
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Signum


    Engine : 20 Dti


    Default

    Hi B
    the light you get is engine electrical fault,(service light has milage on show)you need to get the engine codes read,it sound's like you may have an egr valve fault,code will tell you.
    I clean my egr on my signum every year,VX will tell you to fit a new valve about £80/ £90.takes a couple off hours to remove and clean it's a bit fiddle but worth it.use brake cleaner or carb cleaner and a small wire brush,if your carefull you can part mechanical section from electrical side and do a good job.but get codes read first
    dave

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks for the reply jonny.

    As an update to my problem.Last night car started to make a "whooshing" sound under acceleration.Sounds good but defo not right......Any more thoughts anyone????

    Cheers

  4. #4
    Regular Member Jezzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    S.E
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yes, my thought is that you need to have the codes read, as advised.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    coventry
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    mines doin this too ! and yes it wont exceed 2750 revs in any gear.. 80mph max...
    i will try an read faults tonight.. i have scan tool but where is the diagnostic socket located? thanks to anyone that replies..

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    coventry
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rocky Balboa View Post
    mines doin this too ! and yes it wont exceed 2750 revs in any gear.. 80mph max...
    i will try an read faults tonight.. i have scan tool but where is the diagnostic socket located? thanks to anyone that replies..

    think it should be centre console under ashtray according to the forums... will look later

  7. #7
    Regular Member kamar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    bradford
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    i recon u got a leak in a pipe or a leaking intercooler...

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    coventry
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kamar View Post
    i recon u got a leak in a pipe or a leaking intercooler...
    oh ok....
    im gonna try and read fault codes in a min so hopefully will have some more clues...

    as for leaks..nothing on my drive as far as ive noticed..
    it only happens once or twice a 10 mile journey..
    happens at highish speed on hard accell..
    clears with key off, key on..
    im getting spanner icon in dash
    :-I

    ok back soon..ta 4 reply

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    coventry
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Hi..
    Well..it happened on way back from work
    I connected the scantool (with engine running and spanner icon on still)
    but there was no temporary or confirmed fault codes?
    the scan tool seemed to connect ok as i use it in my day job, also it cleared the spanner icon when i requested a "clear fault codes" using scan tool....to which the icon went out..
    The only tell tale sign i got from the scan tool was that it reported that "EGR Monitor Not Complete"

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Losing power*
    By Iezzi-martin in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 27th October 2010, 09:40
  2. losing power
    By lacom in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 25th November 2008, 09:53
  3. Help Car Keeps Losing Power
    By gregc in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 20th August 2008, 01:07
  4. sri 150 losing power
    By marky2027 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25th July 2007, 20:09
  5. Surging and losing power.
    By AndrewTi in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 24th March 2007, 19:05

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •