User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: VX Tech 2 Costs

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default VX Tech 2 Costs

    OK, I admit before going any further that its not Vectra related but, my astra mk3 that is my non-taxi car has a bit of a fault my mechanic mate cant pinpoint so we think taking it to a dealer and tech 2-ing it is the only answer.

    Try to start car, the ignition comes on fine, stereo comes on, heaters, electric windows work, everything, and the car turns over fine but wont start. also when you turn the ignition on the engine management light starts flashing and wont stop, obviously whatevers causing the light to flash is whats causing the car not to start.

    hence it needs tech 2'd to find out and fix the fault, what sorta price do they charge for fault finding on a tech 2, I assume it'll take only 5mins for the computer to tell them the fault so they can fix it. do I need to pay for the mechanics time using the tech 2 as well, etc.??

    many thanks guys.

  2. #2
    Regular Member The Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    'Norf Yorks.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Some dealers charge an hour no matter what, most have a minimum charge of half an hour.

    Depends on the dealer mate.

    But the older Astras depends if they have a OBDII port or not? Most Snap-On and other handheld scanners will be able to read the error codes on that car no problem.

  3. #3
    Regular Member carl bear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Burton on Trent, Midlands
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    could it be the imobiliser?

    just a quick thought.
    carl

  4. #4
    Regular Member Green Growler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yep, my local stealer has a minimum diagnostic charge of an hours labour, refunded IF they do the remedial work.
    However, what you are describing there with the light, sounds very, very much like an immobiliser fault !!!

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    not sure mate, I just know theres a unused plug in the fusebox thats for plugging the tech 2 into,.

    tbh I just wanna send the car to the garage and get it back working. its sat there for 3months with various things needing done, now there all done and all thats left is to get it started so we can get it mot'd, so we arent using our vectra taxi when we aint at work.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    yes mate according to the owners manual the engine management light flashes when theres an immobiliser fault preventing the car from starting. however we cant pinpoint exactly whats wrong with the immobiliser/causing the car to be immobilised.

  7. #7
    Regular Member The Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    'Norf Yorks.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    You have checked fuses obviously yes mate?

    Any decent garage could diagnose the problem if they have a handheld scanner. I still have my Snap On scanner from my days and it definetely covers your car. Must get that on Ebay...

    Guys above reckon immobiliser mate and if it cranks but doesn't fire then yeah its a good one that

  8. #8
    Regular Member The Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    'Norf Yorks.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hendry
    yes mate according to the owners manual the engine management light flashes when theres an immobiliser fault preventing the car from starting. however we cant pinpoint exactly whats wrong with the immobiliser/causing the car to be immobilised.
    Ah! I must read better, bottle of wine gone here oops. LOL!

    Immobiliser ECU could of failed. Had that on Frontera. Sometimes needs reprogramming, sometimes failed altogether.

    See if you have a Vx specialist in your area, cheaper than the dealer and more often than not do a better job.

  9. #9
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Tech2 is normally a flat charge of £40 at my nearest stealers.. no obligation to have it repaired there as well..

    if i had to have a guess i'd say the imobiliser pickup ring ( around the ignition barrel) would be my first port of call..

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    aye mate, like I say we know its deffo the immobiliser thats at fault we dunno exactly what it is with the immobiliser.

    we've checked fuses, ecu, the transponder block around the ignition barrel, key chip, things in the engine. everything we could think of, still no joy.

    basically if I dont send it to vauxhall and have it fixed for me I am gonna lose my rag and end up scrapping her

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. And Up Go Fuel Costs Again
    By boba in forum General Chat
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 25th January 2009, 18:47
  2. Costs?
    By JKB89 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2nd September 2008, 16:03
  3. Servicing Costs.....
    By Signum_CDTI in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 21st January 2008, 12:49
  4. Costs.
    By FIL 4822 in forum Styling
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20th December 2007, 23:32
  5. URGENT ADVICE NEEDED! Tech 2 hasn't worked and costs rising
    By vectravirg in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 28th June 2007, 20:30

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •