User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: HELP!! Need an electrician

  1. #1
    Regular Member jamesr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Lancashire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default HELP!! Need an electrician

    Any electrians on here?

  2. #2
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder GARY3306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ashington, Northumberland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Theres a few. What is it you're after then?
    [SIGPIC]VX<font color=Red>R</font> with added Courtenay <img src=https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.png border=0 alt= title=Big Grin class=inlineimg />

  3. #3
    Regular Member jamesr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Lancashire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GARY3306 View Post
    Theres a few. What is it you're after then?
    Iam adding and extra light(bulb and switch), to a room we have just divided.

    I have a junction box where the existing bedroom light is connected to.
    In the bedroom there is only the one cable RED/Black and Earth connected to the pendant.

    Back at the junction box i have the feed to the pendant (Brown/Blue/Earth), plus two other cables coming in.

    both RED/Black and Earth, now this is where it doesn't make sense to me.

    One red goes to the brown of the pendant and the black of this cable is connected to the red of the other cable and its black is connected to the Blue feed from the pandant?

    At the bedroom switch, there was 2 cables going in but on removing the plaster, one cable has been chopped off, and the other is connected as expeced. Red to Com and black to L1?

    I was then looking at taking a feed from the next light in Bathroom, looking in the switch and have got two cables,one red to com and other red to L1 and both blacks in a choc block?

    what do i connect to?

  4. #4
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder GARY3306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ashington, Northumberland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    As I say, theres a few on here

    Now that you've detailed what it is you need, I'm sure you'll have the answer before tonight
    [SIGPIC]VX<font color=Red>R</font> with added Courtenay <img src=https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.png border=0 alt= title=Big Grin class=inlineimg />

  5. #5
    Admin plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    140 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    140 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Not an electrician but i know a bit about electrics.

    Back at the juntion box where you have 2 cables. red black and earth, this would be the supply in and supply out to the next light. They normally take a feed off the red and connect to a cable going down to the switch, from the switch to the live side of the light pendant. the neutral and earth for the pendant it normally taken straight off the main feed, this is all normally doing in a 'ceiling rose' where all the connections are made easily.

    So for your next room you take the 240v from the junction boxs with red black and earth as your main feed and then connect as above, I'm sure a sparky will be along to advise soon.
    Plasma's Tech2 services are now partially open and able to provide services



    Come Join our new forum Insignia Owners.com for all your Insignia chat and needs

  6. #6
    Regular Member jamesr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Lancashire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yes I understand a bit too - but couldnt work out why black was connected to red?

    two cables going in juntion box, yet only 1 in swich?

  7. #7
    Admin plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    140 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    140 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    When it head off down to the switch it doesnt matter if it connects to red or black as its just completing the circuit through to the postive of the pendant
    Plasma's Tech2 services are now partially open and able to provide services



    Come Join our new forum Insignia Owners.com for all your Insignia chat and needs

  8. #8
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder GARY3306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ashington, Northumberland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    From the switch up to the pendant the black becomes positive and therefore at the pendant, it should be wrapped on the end with red insulating tape, to denote it is switched live
    [SIGPIC]VX<font color=Red>R</font> with added Courtenay <img src=https://www.vectra-c.com/forum/images/smilies/biggrin.png border=0 alt= title=Big Grin class=inlineimg />

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    North East
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    As others have said the cable to the switch should have a sleeve or tape on the black leg. The wonders of lighting, gets better if you want 3 way

  10. #10
    Admin plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    140 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    140 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    or an intermidate as well!
    Plasma's Tech2 services are now partially open and able to provide services



    Come Join our new forum Insignia Owners.com for all your Insignia chat and needs

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. auto electrician
    By SarahP in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: 22nd November 2012, 09:35
  2. Question for an electrician..
    By snapsnap in forum General Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 22nd January 2012, 15:23
  3. auto electrician
    By marc vectra sri in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd November 2011, 14:56
  4. auto electrician
    By leelfc150 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 27th February 2011, 15:23
  5. electrician?????
    By coylo5 in forum General Chat
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 10th February 2008, 23:51

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •