User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: AM Radio Fault

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    South Yorks
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default AM Radio Fault

    Has anyone experienced this before - I have a CD30 unit in an 07 Exclusiv and the AM band has stopped working - the car is in its third year of warranty so took it to the dealers who fitted a recon unit (which apparently is standard practice) although this has the same fault -so presumably its not the radio at fault - given that this was a recon unit I got them to reluctantly refit the original unit.

    They now want to chech the aerial wiring for continuity (even though the FM works OK) as they think it may be this or interference from an ABS sensor in the headlining, consequently they want to remove the headlining to which I am a bit reluctant as they will never get it back right.

    It all sounds riduculus to me having to remove the headling - anyone else experienced anything similar ?

  2. #2
    Full Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C

    Trim : Energy

    Engine : Z19DTH

    Year : 2005

    Mileage : 131,000

    Default

    Never had problems on one band only, although I have heard of aerials failing occasionally.

    They shouldn't have to drop the whole head lining, just the back 8"
    It is only held up on velcro anyway....I've dropped my head-lining when fitting a rear interior light unit.
    It goes back in very easily, and is quite resistant to a little manipulation when refitting, so you shouldn't get any pull or stretch marks.

    The aerial unit is just held onto the roof section by a very large nut, just a matter of swapping the aerial base.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    bolton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Hi,
    Got the exactly same problem with my 06 Exclusiv. FM just fine but nothing on AM. Did you get it fixed.?

  4. #4
    Regular Member Exclusive BV's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    West Midlands
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    i've heard of this happening before, it's probably the earth on the aerial. Without a decent earth it will get FM but not AM. The head unit is probably fine,

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Radio fault
    By jamiedvvt in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th February 2013, 16:43
  2. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 9th July 2011, 22:19
  3. CDR2005 Radio / Panel Display Fault
    By born to be in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd July 2010, 01:19
  4. aftermarket radio - fault light on
    By the-ferret in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd April 2009, 19:52
  5. 3rd Party Radio Causing Dash Fault?
    By akulla in forum Vectra C / Signum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 3rd July 2008, 23:37

Visitors found this page by searching for:

fault of am radio

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •