User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 54

Thread: 3.0 V6 CDTi occasional limp mode...

  1. #1
    Regular Member fandango's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Nottingham-ish
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default 3.0 V6 CDTi occasional limp mode...

    Hi,

    The car has started to, very occasionally, go into limp mode.

    I start the car and it revs, then it sounds like something 'clicks', then it idles fast - the EML comes on (car with spanner through it).

    The car will barely rev over 3k rpm and the turbo will NOT spool up.

    If I touch the brakes, the revs return to normal, release the footbrake and the revs increase at idle - it's a fairly sharp jump of around 250 rpm (normal idle is 750 rpm). When the footbrake is depressed and I use the accelerator pedal, it does NOTHING - on either tickle, half or fully depressed pedal.

    Any idea what could be causing this?

    I have had a DTUK CRD2 box on for a couple of months which has been running absolutely fine (set at -1 then +1).

    This issue has happened both with AND without the DTUK box on.

    Any help/troubleshooting ideas welcome before I have to hand over some hard earned for some tech help at a stealers/specialists.

    Cheers
    Carl

  2. #2
    Regular Member fandango's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Nottingham-ish
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Forgot to mention that the car is Euro 3 (?) - pre-facelift, MY04.

  3. #3
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    SOunds like its in limp home mode as you say, thats what causes the car not to rev. You need the codes read really.
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  4. #4
    Regular Member fandango's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Nottingham-ish
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Cheers.

    Does the car keep a log of the codes, or does it need to be read when the car is in limp mode?

  5. #5
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    It should keep a log but its better if its in limp mode. Mine does not seem to store the codes like it should, hopefully yours will.
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  6. #6
    Regular Member fandango's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Nottingham-ish
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Cheers for that - looks like I'm off to get the codes read.

    Why can't engines be as simple as my first car - a 998cc Mini! I miss checking/adjusting plugs & points!

  7. #7
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    EVERYWHERE
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fandango View Post


    I have had a DTUK CRD2 box on for a couple of months which has been running absolutely fine (set at -1 then +1).
    Did it go into limp mode before you put the box on?

    Had the same problem myself.It was fine before I put the box on and then when I put the box on ,after a while, (few weeks) I used to get codes for 'boost pressure','EGR' (various),'MAP sensor' etc.Then I'd take the box off and still get the same errors.I'd then disconnect the battery for a while and all would be well again when reconnected..until I put the box back on,and then it would be fine for a while,and then.......You can see where this is going.

    Having the box on was really frustrating because it would be fine for ages and then a code would come up or it would go into limp mode,and now that the box hasn't been on for ages (still got one) I've had no real problems at all.
    Last edited by diesel dog; 2nd September 2009 at 01:10.

  8. #8
    Regular Member fandango's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Nottingham-ish
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    It didn't go into limp mode until the box was on. Although the box ran for about 2k miles absolutely fine. Then one day, limp mode. So I took the box off and it was fine. I put the box back on and it was fine. Then limp mode. Then it was fine. Then it sporadically goes into limp mode with or without the box on.

    It did it again this morning. Driving along, approach traffic lights, EML light & limp mode. I limped to the next set of lights which, thankfully, were on red. Turned the engine off. Just before the lights changed, I started the car. Fine. And it was fine all the way in to work.

    I'm going to ring around a couple of places to get the codes read, once they're done, I'll compare them to your results DD.

  9. #9
    Regular Member fandango's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Nottingham-ish
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Well, it's now in permanent limp mode. EML light on dash is permanently on.

    Off to get codes read tomorrow. Will post up with updates as I have them.

  10. #10
    Regular Member m8internet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cumbernauld, Scotland
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    The fault codes generally remain readable for up to five key ignition starts
    However, if the fault is permanently showing then that makes life easier!

    However, this sounds like what mine did when I had accidently disconnected the MAF when changing the offside headlamp bulb
    It took a full hour, with the key out of the ignition, before the EMS reset
    Ironically, I had driven the car to the VX dealership and booked the car in
    It was on restarting it went away, so went back in, but they advised they would leave the booking open and if I didn't come back they would assume the warning was no longer present

  11. Thanks nickyb73 thanked for this post
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Cdti limp mode???.
    By steve1312 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th July 2012, 00:46
  2. 3500 rpm then limp mode 1.9 cdti
    By lesron in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd July 2012, 21:04
  3. Please help?? 1.9 cdti 150 limp mode p1125
    By rsvphil in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 24th September 2010, 13:43
  4. Signum 1.9 CDTi limp mode
    By doublek500 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th June 2010, 22:26
  5. 1.9 cdti 150 limp mode
    By jeets in forum Introduce yourself.
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30th May 2009, 20:29

Visitors found this page by searching for:

vectra c tuning box limp mode

vectra c 3.0 diesel limp mode and no fault codes

vectra c v6 cdti keeps going into limp mode

https:www.vectra-c.comforumshowthread.php90955-3-0-V6-CDTi-occasional-limp-mode

vectra c cdti goes into limp mode at idle

2006 vectra 3.0 v6 limp mode

3.0 v6 cdti vectra not revving over 3000

vectra c v6 revs moving going onto limp mode

vauxhall vectra v6 cdti limp mode

vectra c v6 linp mode

vauxhall signum limp mode on and off

3.0 v6 vectra limp mode

2004 3.0 v6 cdti vectra going into limp mode

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •