User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Radio reception?

  1. #1
    Regular Member monkeez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    North East
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Radio reception?

    I've just installed my new Pioneer AVH-P3100DVD
    I havent yet got the PC99-X45 wiring harness and the patch lead needed for the steering controls.
    The radio reception is crap - only picking up Radio 1.
    Could the fact that i havent got the above cables have anything to do with this?

  2. #2
    Regular Member DennisTheMenace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Dorset
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Sounds like the antenna is not getting its 12v feed for the signal amplifier

  3. #3
    Regular Member monkeez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    North East
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    how do i sort that out?

  4. #4
    Regular Member monkeez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    North East
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    just had another look at it.
    I can get some FM stations by manually tuning it (wont find on auto search), but not the best reception.
    I can just make out the MW ones but very faintly.

  5. #5
    Regular Member monkeez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    North East
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    sorry to be a pain, but how can i fix this?

  6. #6
    Regular Member DennisTheMenace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Dorset
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    In the Main power plug that goes into the radio is a wire coming off i think its a blue with red trace thats the power supply to the ariel , you need to connect up the power antenna wire to it so when the radio is on its gettng a 12v feed to the ariel amplifier which is built into the base of the antenna .

    Is your car a full or half can-bus ?

  7. #7
    Regular Member monkeez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    North East
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    it's a half can bus (3 buttoned steering wheel)

    In the manual for the unit, its says that the 'blue/white' wire on the units loom is to be connected to auto-antenna relay control terminal
    So do i need to connect that up with the blue/red wire on the car?
    Last edited by monkeez; 1st September 2009 at 07:33.

  8. #8
    Regular Member DennisTheMenace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Dorset
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If the blue red is the correct wire (double check) then yes , you need to connect them together and that will supply the antenna amp with power when the radio is on

  9. #9
    Regular Member monkeez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    North East
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    nice one Dennis, i'll try it later.

    I'm pretty sure that the blue/red and grey/white wires on the cars loom arent connected up to anything on the units loom.

  10. #10
    Regular Member DennisTheMenace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Dorset
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    IIRC one is to switch the screen , you know when you switch on the radio and the date disapears and the other is power for the antenna , from the age of your car im pretty certain its the blue red trace .

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. radio reception
    By fiend61 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 27th October 2013, 10:28
  2. radio reception
    By derby4life in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12th November 2009, 17:57
  3. CD 30 Radio No Reception on AM
    By Tomkid in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th April 2009, 14:44
  4. radio reception really bad
    By kev1983 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 31st March 2008, 19:47
  5. Radio reception
    By victor in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 4th November 2007, 11:39

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •