User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: how easy is it to chanhe handbrake cable, anyone done it?

  1. #1
    Regular Member signum03's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    worthing
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    confused how easy is it to chanhe handbrake cable, anyone done it?

    as above went to stealers today to see if handbrake could be adjusted, they said its self adjusting so the cable is stretched, they want £200 +vat for parts and labour, i kindly said thanks and left. has anyone carried this out before? i have a 2003 signum 3.0V6 CDTI.help.

  2. #2
    Regular Member signum03's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    worthing
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    bump

  3. #3
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Jack it up for a peak? It can't be too hard can it - hopefully.
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  4. #4
    Regular Member signum03's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    worthing
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    just been out and bought a vectra haynes manual as dont make them for signums! youu need to remove center console, easy enough, and remove exhaust center pipe, if i had a ramp this wouldnt be a prob, but trying to negociate a exhaust out of a 3/4 foot working area have to think about this or bite the bullet and pay!

  5. #5
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I remember nutron removing his exhaust at santa pod using his oe jack!
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  6. #6
    Regular Member Penfold101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Combination of Preston and Oxfordshire...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Big Sig View Post
    I remember nutron removing his exhaust at santa pod using his oe jack!
    I'd have thought a spanner would have been more useful...:

  7. #7
    Regular Member signum03's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    worthing
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    well said that man!

  8. #8
    Regular Member gtr1000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Carmarthen
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia

    Trim : Sri

    Engine : 140 Ecoflex S/S

    Year : 2013

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by signum03 View Post
    as above went to stealers today to see if handbrake could be adjusted, they said its self adjusting so the cable is stretched, they want £200 +vat for parts and labour, i kindly said thanks and left. has anyone carried this out before? i have a 2003 signum 3.0V6 CDTI.help.
    According to VX labour times, the labour (code H321500) is only 0.9hrs to replace the cable on a Signum . So even @ £100/hr labour, that's a lot for a cable!.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. handbrake cable
    By mbtech01 in forum Suspension, Wheels & Brakes
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 15th August 2013, 16:47
  2. Handbrake Cable Tightening
    By Tank988 in forum Suspension, Wheels & Brakes
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 23rd April 2012, 10:49
  3. Power cable to amp, easy to route?
    By sdnatlst in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 26th April 2010, 16:44
  4. Handbrake cable
    By peadar in forum Vectra C / Signum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10th June 2008, 07:57
  5. handbrake cable
    By chrisgettings in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 23rd December 2007, 12:49

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •