User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: CD30 v CDC2007

  1. #1
    Regular Member PauloMcGuinee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Milton Keynes
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default CD30 v CDC2007

    Hi Guys/Gals

    I have a GSI 3.2 with the 4 disc autochanger unit and tape deck in it. I have just aquired a CD30 unit with screen paired and working. I dont use the Tape deck and think it makes the car look dated which was my reason for getting the CD30 but now I am unsure if it is worth swapping the unit out, or just selling the CD30 on.

    Is there any difference in sound? Which is regarded the better unit?

    Also which is the best Vauxhall stereo in the range as the unit I have doesn't sound that great.

    Thanks for any advice...

    Paul M

  2. #2
    Forum Moderator John LE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Forfar, Scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    One slight problem mate, the cd30 is a full can bus stereo and your GSi (being a 2004) is half can bus. Will take a bit of work to fit but apperently it can be done. Not a straight fit though sorry

  3. #3
    Regular Member PauloMcGuinee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Milton Keynes
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Aha... I see, thats a sh!t then.... out of interest what is a can bus?

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    North East
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Simply, canbus is the way the car controls how it works. It passes data between various bits of the car.

  5. #5
    Regular Member PauloMcGuinee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Milton Keynes
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    So if swapping out the standard Vauxhall equipment can hinder the cars ability to pass information around, how would putting a 3rd party strereo affect things?

    - To put it simply, If I install a pioneer head unit in the GSI will there be any issues I need to know about?
    Last edited by PauloMcGuinee; 29th July 2009 at 15:26.

  6. #6
    Forum Moderator John LE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Forfar, Scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yeah that'll be ok as long as you buy the adaptor leads for the steering controls (if you want to keep using them). The half can-bus vecs have standard ISO connectors for the radio. The full can-bus vecs have non iso connectors and need an adaptor lead.

  7. #7
    Regular Member PauloMcGuinee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Milton Keynes
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Got it... thanks for the help... now then who wants to buy a CD30 paired with screen

  8. #8
    Regular Member Dippy-Vx-line Red's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Earlston (Scottish Borders)
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Don`t do it..Cd30 is a p$%h stereo..especially when it changes radio stations by itself and then back again.....Also the sound from it aint that great either...I`ve actualy just ditched my cd30 in favour of the cd70 nav..far better stereo and has mp3 function..

  9. #9
    Regular Member PauloMcGuinee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Milton Keynes
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If I can get hold of a CD70 will it need to be paired with a screen? I'll start searching ebay!

    ...Ebay Update - wow they dont come cheap! I would expect some seriously good sound for £500+
    Last edited by PauloMcGuinee; 29th July 2009 at 15:55.

  10. #10
    Forum Moderator John LE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Forfar, Scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Btw you'll have the same prob with the CD70 mate

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Fitting Parrot MKi9200- Can it run through CD30 aux?(does CD30 even have aux!?)
    By dibble750 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 18th January 2013, 02:20
  2. Quick CD30 to CD30 MP3 question
    By Chip in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 24th August 2012, 00:47
  3. CD30 to CD30 MP3 Conversion
    By yysnet in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th October 2010, 00:20
  4. Cd30 mp3
    By lee in forum How much is it worth? (THIS SECTION IS NOW CLOSED)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 28th February 2009, 20:08
  5. Replacing CD30 with CD30 MP3
    By Marky in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 15th August 2007, 13:38

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •