Good Answers
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

Default Rear Brake Questions

Hi I am a newbie on ere. It was recomemended to me by a mate to try you guys for some assistance. I drive a 07 SRI 1.8 Vectra.

Today i have noticed a grating noise at the back end under braking. I am assuming its the pads that are low. I have tried to have a look but the locking wheel nut doesnt want to come off with the basic wheel wrench and its started to round so i am gonna call into a garage and have it removed with a gun.

The questions i have is

1, I have only done 27k is that about right for the life expectancy.

2, Does anyone have an idea how much the replacement pads should cost fitted or supply

3, Is it likely that i will need the discs replacing even at such an early time in the cars life.

And finally i may have to use the car this week before i get chance to sort this, will it cause me any major problems.

Thanks in advance for your help people

Old School Vectra-C.Com. Residing in sunny Leeds.
    Problems Posted
    Problems Solved
    Best Answers
    Good Answers
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

Vehicle : SRi

Engine : Z22SE (2.2 Petrol)

Year : 2004

Mileage : 137000

Hi mate, welcome to the site. The rears tend to go before the fronts, and its the inner rear pad that always tends to go first. At 27k i'd say yes, some rears do tend to go at that mileage, but others have been on till 60k. Good rear pads should cost you about £20. You wont need rear disks unless you drive on them too much with duff pads. Try Autovaux in Wakefield for your pads. HTH

Problems Posted
    Problems Solved
    Best Answers
    Good Answers
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

First of all welcome to the site...