User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: cd70 and copy cd's

  1. #1
    Regular Member DurhamRed's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Co. Durham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra SRi


    Engine : 1.8VVTi

    Year : 2008

    Default cd70 and copy cd's

    Hi all,
    I wonder if any of you have this problem with your cd unit. Mines the cd 70 with the sat nav. 06 Vectra SRi.
    Basically, I downloaded (legally - lol!) some mp3 tunes and burned them as normal to a cd-r disc using my pc (running vista). The songs were converted to normal wmv tracks. I tried to play the cd in my veccy but the ****** disc just kept getting spat out saying invalid cd! or something of that nature. Kept trying and every now and again it would (eventually) play the first song but if you skip to the next track I was back to square one and it refused to play the disc.
    So I tried the same disc in my wifes 08 reg Grande Punto and the cd player in that car plays the disc fine. Then I tried the same disc in the little £15 cd player we have in our kitchen - again played fine.
    I then tried one of those laser cleaning discs in my veccy but it made no difference. Original cd's play fine by the way with almost immediate start.

    So anyone had / got the same problem? Is it an issue with vx cd units?

    Cheers for any help,
    Red.

  2. #2
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    What make of blank CD was it? The HUs can be fussy with the type. I used a cheap brand in my CCR2006 and it didn't like them - kept sticking - so I used the good Verbatim ones I use for computer stuff and it worked just fine with those.

    Try a different brand and a quality brand if you weren't already.

  3. #3
    Regular Member Robbie69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I use asda cd's in mine using itunes, work no problem.

  4. #4
    Regular Member Robbie69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    aaaaaaaaaaa
    Last edited by Robbie69; 22nd June 2009 at 22:04.

  5. #5
    Ex Vec-C Admin Stevel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Chester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Non of the Philips discs I have work in my CD70. The Imation ones I have work fine.

  6. #6
    Regular Member Flaninacupboard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Wellingborough
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    didn't think the CD70 played WMA files? Downloaded mp3s can also be encoded in an odd/non standard way. I'd stick to files you've ripped yourself.

  7. #7
    Regular Member DurhamRed's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Co. Durham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra SRi


    Engine : 1.8VVTi

    Year : 2008

    Default

    Ta for the replies folks - I did post another thread on this but it seems to of disappeared! lol.
    Red.

  8. #8
    Regular Member LJ sxi-nav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Winchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Flaninacupboard View Post
    didn't think the CD70 played WMA files? Downloaded mp3s can also be encoded in an odd/non standard way. I'd stick to files you've ripped yourself.
    I thought the same when I read the OP. 'Normal' mp3 files should burn fine as a data disc. burning mp3's as an AUDIO discs should also work - but not WMA's (I'm guessing that's what you meant with WMV's).

    If they are definetely mp3 data discs OR Audio discs and still not working, then try different brands as suggested above.

  9. #9
    Regular Member jos163's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    North Wales
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I use a good conversion program like Roxio Creator. It works fine with this as it gives you the option to burn a disk to play in the car.

  10. #10
    Regular Member Penfold101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Combination of Preston and Oxfordshire...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I've had issues with the way Windows burns CD's before - I think it has something to do with finalising the disc which most burning programs do automatically, but windows doesn't depending on how the files were burnt. If it doesn't finalise it, and leaves it open for further burning on another computer, the CD70 won't play it, and comes up with 'invalid disc' as above...

    Every time I burnt the same music through Nero onto the same type of disc, it worked fine...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 3rd March 2013, 17:36
  2. CD70 will not load cd's in to the slot.
    By Jekyll & Hyde in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th January 2013, 21:34
  3. can cd70 Sat Nav play MP3 cd's
    By Steven T Davies-Moss in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 3rd November 2010, 23:26
  4. CD70 Update CD'S Latest Version. 11/2007
    By leeds vectra in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th December 2008, 00:16
  5. NEw CD70 Sat Nav Cd's 2007/2008
    By lofty in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 3rd January 2008, 09:56

Visitors found this page by searching for:

cd70 wont read discs but read copy discs

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •