User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Advice on the best way to extend a sky cable

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    dudley
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Advice on the best way to extend a sky cable

    Bought a new telly and have decided to put the telly on the other side of the room, only problem Sky cable is too short, I have bought some new cable, 15metres worth, and some connectors, now my sky signal has dropped to half and the pic quality worse then before, gold plated connectors aswell, can't use hdmi as have an old sky box so its scart only, think its having extended the wire thats caused my problems as it was fine when it was in one peice.,

    Now I have enough cable to run out the wall and up to the dish to make it one piece but how does it attach dish end...? anyone know

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Wirral
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by olid2002 View Post
    Bought a new telly and have decided to put the telly on the other side of the room, only problem Sky cable is too short, I have bought some new cable, 15metres worth, and some connectors, now my sky signal has dropped to half and the pic quality worse then before, gold plated connectors aswell, can't use hdmi as have an old sky box so its scart only, think its having extended the wire thats caused my problems as it was fine when it was in one peice.,

    Now I have enough cable to run out the wall and up to the dish to make it one piece but how does it attach dish end...? anyone know
    Hi olid2002

    Just remove the F connector from the dish and take it from the cable and reattch to the new cable.

    Details here http://www.satcure.co.uk/tech/fconn.htm

    neilrj

  3. #3
    Regular Member Ste's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    ..... Driving the Jaguar XF
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Jaguar XF 3.0D V6

    Trim : Black

    Engine : 3.0D V6

    Year : 0000

    Default

    I extended the dish to box cable in our old house by using 2 normal TV aerial plugs and a double female connector. Worked just fine. You have to make sure that there are absolutely NO shield wire fibres crossing over with the core solid copper wire.

  4. #4
    Regular Member JSYSH466Y's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Newcastle under Lyme
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Maplins sell inline junctions which are like a double sided sky box connector

  5. #5
    Ex Vec-C Admin Deztroyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    WGAF#5
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    you can also get f connector in line boosters then it should give you a slight db gain in the original signal as well

    hth
    Dez

    0-Large smile ......every time it's driven

  6. #6
    North West Regional Organiser paulvectrac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    morecambe
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    34 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : vectra

    Trim : vxr

    Engine : 2.8 v6 turbo

    Year : 2007

    Default

    any way you can think will work mate i insall stuff like that 4 a livin use aireal plugs or even a choclate block it all works
    Vectra vxr custome remaps egr deletes dpf and diagnostic work all remaps are custome bench tuning avalible all genuine equipment PM for info

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. advice on runnin cable from boot pls
    By Steven T Davies-Moss in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 29th March 2010, 12:11
  2. Possible to extend functions on a Eberspächer?
    By fikse in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 30th July 2009, 21:11
  3. Should i extend my warranty
    By spennny in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 14th January 2009, 09:29
  4. Network Q warranty - managed to extend it again!
    By Duncan in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 22nd February 2007, 21:01

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •