User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: GID and Stereo upgrade question

  1. #1
    Regular Member redraptor_141's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Sailing the High Seas on HMS Ark Royal
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Question GID and Stereo upgrade question

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/VAUXHALL-VECTR...A4%7C294%3A200


    Am i Right in Thinking i Can upgrade my current stereo with this? ive currently got a CDR2005 (i think). I know it means messing witth the wireing behind but thats okay. just checking it would work. also how does it work CD wise? do you pop the bottom out and load the CD's?

    Ta Guys, Will

  2. #2
    Regular Member kman247's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    milton keynes
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by redraptor_141 View Post
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/VAUXHALL-VECTR...A4%7C294%3A200


    Am i Right in Thinking i Can upgrade my current stereo with this? ive currently got a CDR2005 (i think). I know it means messing witth the wireing behind but thats okay. just checking it would work. also how does it work CD wise? do you pop the bottom out and load the CD's?

    Ta Guys, Will
    Therss no extra wiring required will just plug in to replace your current stereo , only wires needed it you dont have a gid currently. Then its 2 wires from the gid to your diagnostic port. You will also then need the stalk with BC controls and the windscreen washer bottle sensor too.

  3. #3
    Regular Member redraptor_141's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Sailing the High Seas on HMS Ark Royal
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    ahh so it will work thats okay then. ive got a TID at the moment and ive got the sensor and the stalk allready. so its just a case of changing my 18pin plug into a 32 pin plug. ill just follow the How2 on here.

  4. #4
    Regular Member kman247's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    milton keynes
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by redraptor_141 View Post
    ahh so it will work thats okay then. ive got a TID at the moment and ive got the sensor and the stalk allready. so its just a case of changing my 18pin plug into a 32 pin plug. ill just follow the How2 on here.

    Yes , thats correct straight forward following the how2. Plus you will need a tech2 session or equivalent to activate the stalk.

  5. #5
    Admin & Merchandise Manager bigmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Devon
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    67 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : insignia

    Trim : irmscher

    Engine : 2.0 cdti

    Year : 2009

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by redraptor_141 View Post
    ahh so it will work thats okay then. ive got a TID at the moment and ive got the sensor and the stalk allready. so its just a case of changing my 18pin plug into a 32 pin plug. ill just follow the How2 on here.
    Just follow guide mate and you will be ok

    Oh btw see you come from wittering i use to live a easton on the hill i could see wittering airfield from my bedroom and remember many sleepless nights due to them testing the engines all night long lol
    Use to go Cubs there as well

  6. #6
    Regular Member redraptor_141's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Sailing the High Seas on HMS Ark Royal
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    lol 23,600HP does pump out a little bit of noise i must admit. lol you want to do my job when u underneath them pulling the chocks out. ear duffs and ear plugs and its still loud lol.


    is it worth doing the Blue LED Change while its all out? is it easy to do, console wise. i know the clocks are a bit more of a challange

  7. #7
    Admin & Merchandise Manager bigmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Devon
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    67 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : insignia

    Trim : irmscher

    Engine : 2.0 cdti

    Year : 2009

    Default

    Not sure about clocks mate but while its out you might as well good luck any questions feel free to pm

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Vectra CDC Stereo Upgrade
    By jonagain in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13th June 2012, 15:09
  2. Stereo Upgrade
    By P3tchy in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13th December 2009, 12:49
  3. upgrade oem stereo
    By Keithy in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1st May 2008, 14:12
  4. stereo upgrade
    By steve904 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 15th March 2008, 18:46

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •