User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Can I Fit a BC Wiper Stalk on my GSI?

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Devon
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Can I Fit a BC Wiper Stalk on my GSI?

    Hi everyone,

    I'm thinking of upgrading my NCDC 2013 Head Unit in my 2003 3.2 GSI for an aftermarket one. Before I do this I want to make sure I can still access and reset the trip computer (fuel consumption, mileage etc).

    I've removed my headunit and can't get the trip computer to appear in the CID with the steering wheel controls (it's half canbus so just buttons not rollers) so want to fit a new wiper stalk with the BC buttons (mine doesn't have one), in the hope that this will make it appear when pressed.

    Fitting the stalk is no problem, but I have a question as to whether or not my car will actually recognise the new stalk buttons when the stalk is fitted. I've called a couple of local dealers and they have said it would need to be tech 2'd but there would be no guarantee it would be recognised and I could be wasting my money. Anyone got any ideas? Would a tech 2 session defiintely work or are the dealers right - it could be hit and miss?

    Really keen to know as I desperately want a new head unit but also do not want to lose my trip compuer!

    Thanks guys!

  2. #2
    Admin & Merchandise Manager bigmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Devon
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    67 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : insignia

    Trim : irmscher

    Engine : 2.0 cdti

    Year : 2009

    Default

    Darko has just asked me the same question lol
    I would say yes (but not 100% sure) as the BC function is stored in the CID itself and not the car so all you would need is a wiperstalk to talk to the canbus for the CID basically thats all the stereo did when it was installed,none of the infomation is stored in stereo its all in the GID/CID

    Now as you have taken the stereo away it can no longer activate this option so you need to install a wiper stalk with the BC function,once this has been tech2'd to your car i'm quite confident that it will show BC menu's.

  3. #3
    Admin & Merchandise Manager bigmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Devon
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    67 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : insignia

    Trim : irmscher

    Engine : 2.0 cdti

    Year : 2009

    Default

    Maybe some one with a CCR2006 and BC stalk can remove their stereo and check the BC functions,This would be an easier way of checking that the BC still works

  4. #4
    Regular Member john_k_sri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Waterloo, Liverpool
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRI NAV XP

    Engine : 1.9 CDTI 150

    Year : 2007

    Mileage : 72K

    Default

    Just a thought.The BC function is only on factory systems installed in full-canbus cars. GSI is half canbus.

  5. #5
    Regular Member kenp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kr. Hyllinge, Denmark
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C


    Engine : 2.2 Direct

    Year : 2004

    Default

    BC is also on halfcanbus

  6. #6
    Regular Member darko2301's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Croatia
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bigmac View Post
    Darko has just asked me the same question lol
    maybe that's me in disguise
    nah, i've asked you earlier

    anyway, you said that you have removed already your HU but now you can't get bc on your cid? so what is shown on your cid while the radio is out - just clock and temperature like when you unlock the car or it shows some bc values but you can't change them or access other functions?

    the best would be, if you have a friend who has a stalk in his car, to try and fit it to yours as it is a 15 sec job to swap them hth

  7. #7
    Admin & Merchandise Manager bigmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Devon
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    67 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : insignia

    Trim : irmscher

    Engine : 2.0 cdti

    Year : 2009

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by darko2301 View Post
    maybe that's me in disguise
    nah, i've asked you earlier

    anyway, you said that you have removed already your HU but now you can't get bc on your cid? so what is shown on your cid while the radio is out - just clock and temperature like when you unlock the car or it shows some bc values but you can't change them or access other functions?

    the best would be, if you have a friend who has a stalk in his car, to try and fit it to yours as it is a 15 sec job to swap them hth

    It wont let him access BC functions as the BC button is on the stereo and if he did manage to get a wiper stalk he would have to get it activated by Tech2.
    Now like ive said the best way to check all this out would be to get some one with a CCR2006 & BC stalk to remove stereo and check to see if the stalk and BC work still as Darko has said he tried to get his Stalk activated by tech2 and they said they couldnt do it as they " couldnt connect stalk and the screen together as there is no adequate radio and he can't make a connection "

    Now it could be that the screens used by the NCDC wont recognize the Stalk i'm not sure but if we establish that the stalk doesn't need a stereo fitted to work we are half way there

  8. #8
    Regular Member kman247's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    milton keynes
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Hi guys , you would need to replace the GID with one from a car that has a ccr2006 or cdr2005. The one from a ncdc series will not work with the stalk , god knows I have tried all combinations and the only combination for the BC on the stalk is a GID from non sat nav GID.s

  9. #9
    Regular Member kman247's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    milton keynes
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    No amount of tech2 work can resolve the different display issues , I have been working alongside another member on here with a TECH 2 and it cant be done. Only option is a different screen.

  10. #10
    Admin & Merchandise Manager bigmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Devon
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    67 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : insignia

    Trim : irmscher

    Engine : 2.0 cdti

    Year : 2009

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kman247 View Post
    Hi guys , you would need to replace the GID with one from a car that has a ccr2006 or cdr2005. The one from a ncdc series will not work with the stalk , god knows I have tried all combinations and the only combination for the BC on the stalk is a GID from non sat nav GID.s

    This was my fear that the NCDC displays are not compatible with the wiperstalk,I think this is largely due to the NCDC Radio's relying more on canbus than the CCR2006 as there's more wires connecting these screens to the stereo than on a CCR

    So if you wanted to do this you would have to replace CID'S with GID'S from a CCR2006 unit.
    Still need some one to check that it will work with stereo removed tho

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Wiper stalk
    By bigmac in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7th March 2009, 22:36

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •