User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: 09 exclusive. Can I add a trip computer and a CDC 40

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    confused 09 exclusive. Can I add a trip computer and a CDC 40

    OK, I have read some of the threads regarding this, but have ended up more confused than I was when I started.
    I have an 09 Exclusive that currently has a CDC 30 and the standard display fitted. I want to fit a CDC 40 because the current radio is crap and keeps cutting out. I also want to add the fuel computer etc. Reading through the other postings it sounds like I will have to re wire the plug for the display and need to add 2 wires, some people have also said that I can fit the display straight into the car with no changes. is it possible to clarify please? If I want to change the head unit to a CDC 40 what do I need to change?

    Any advice would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    uk
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    hello i have the same idea but an older 54 plate vectra with cd30 and would like to upgrade also
    any ideas

  3. #3
    Regular Member DaveyVXT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    SE London
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Its a Straight swap, you will need to pay a visit to someone with Tech2 or find a dealer that knows how to use a Tech2. swapping out a CD30 for a CDC40 it will work straight away but the Tech2 is needed to get the Board Computer to work. The Code Index needs to be changed and the Varient code needs to be changed from i think 0 to 1 or 1 to 2 either one of those as i can't quite remember.

    The CDC40 and GID do not have to have been devorced either which is handy but when using tech2 to check the VIN it will display 2 yours and the vin from the car that the CDC40 and GID came from

    Hope this helps. if you have any questions feel free to PM me as i done this change from the CD30 and TID to the CDC40 and GID and it works perfectly with no wiring

  4. #4
    Regular Member 3.2_V6_VXR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    S.Wales, Nr Swansea
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hey mate my cousin borrowed my CD30 and screen from my SRi when i fitted my CD70 and his was 57 plate Exclusive, and the trip computer and everything worked fine without him needing a TECH2 session, he originally had the single style screen like you have

  5. #5
    Full Member gibbon7000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    lincs
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    jez, i thought the exclusiv came with the cd70 nav. The old mans signum did

    My other car. 1972 1641cc slammed beetle. On the road finally!!

  6. #6
    Regular Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    CD70 is an option on any car regardless of spec.
    Standard equipment is the CD30 and poxy pixelly screen.

    Yes you can swap a cdc40 and gid straight in, if they are still paired, however there is a likelyhood that the speakers will pop and crackle for the first five minutes after switching off.
    This is assuming that you don't have / want the DAB version which would entail the extra DAB box and loom and aerial base.

    Ideally get a divorced CDC40 and a GID screen.
    They can then be tech 2 programmed into your car with no further issues.

    Most GID's come with the BC pre-enabled, whereas the BC cannot be enabled on the pixel screens.

    For those who do like their CD30...You too can install a GID, and the BC functios will usually be pre-enabled. The screen looks loads better.
    Last edited by Robsey; 21st October 2009 at 21:59.

  7. #7
    Regular Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If radio is cutting out / turning off, then it should be a warranty replacement job!!

  8. #8
    Regular Member mattv6diesel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    portland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    is the cdc 40 a dab model. so a extra aerial lead and base might be needed.

  9. #9
    Regular Member Robsey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North East Cheshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    This is assuming that you don't have / want the DAB version which would entail the extra DAB box and loom and aerial base.

    The dab would also need to be programmed into the car with tech 2.

    To be honest, I don't know why they don't do dab as standard for all cars!! Still got AM on my CD70!!!

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Oxfordshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Robsey View Post
    CD70 is an option on any car regardless of spec..
    It was standard spec on my Elite.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. should the car have trip computer?
    By wardy in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10th January 2012, 01:10
  2. Trip Computer
    By ren172uk in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 19th October 2008, 16:43
  3. anyone added trip computer/board computer?
    By Craig1985 in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 24th August 2008, 02:33
  4. Trip computer?
    By Stuarty in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 17th January 2008, 11:06
  5. Trip Computer
    By ed taylor in forum General Chat
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 1st May 2006, 21:45

Visitors found this page by searching for:

add dab box cdc40 vectra

cdc portadown

vectra c exclusiv trip computer

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •