User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Best router

  1. #1
    Regular Member yorkshireborn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Rotherham SouthYorkshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : saab 95


    Engine : 2.3t

    Year : 2006

    Default Best router

    my old router keeps dropping signal so looking to buy a new cable router.

    looking at the new gaming routers out there but there a tad expensive so can anyone recommend a cable router thats easy to set up and is perfect for the ps3 and lappy.

    thx

  2. #2
    Regular Member steve1975l's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Surrey
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I use a Netgear DG834T wireless but it has 4 wired ports.

  3. #3
    Regular Member kenp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kr. Hyllinge, Denmark
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C


    Engine : 2.2 Direct

    Year : 2004

    Default

    dont know how internet works in the UK.. but ive got a Dlink DIR-655 works perfect.

  4. #4
    Admin & Membership Manager bigmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Devon
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    75 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : insignia

    Trim : irmscher

    Engine : 2.0 cdti

    Year : 2009

    Default

    I use a Netgear DG834G works perfectly on computer,lappy and my PS3 i all so have a spare one sitting by my computer pm if your interested

  5. #5
    Ex Vec-C Admin Deztroyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    WGAF#5
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    bt version 2.0 black hub 4 x direct ports and supports gaming via internal settings - got mine new sealed in a box for £16 on ebay
    very stable and very fast in comparison to my old hub

    0-Large smile ......every time it's driven

  6. #6
    Regular Member Tadpole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    'I haven’t lost my marbles, they’re in a bag somewhere? .. '
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I have experienced wi-fi disconnection (repairable) now for quite a few weeks, sometimes every couple of hours. I am at present moving around the channels to get away from potential other users as this is the first line I am told to try. I will be interested in your replies. I have a Belkin ‘G’ 802.11 F5D7633 hth

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Bristol
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I use a linksys wrt300n works perfect with PS3 and Xbox. Easy stup no need to configure routre just set and go.

  8. #8
    Full Member gibbon7000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    lincs
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I have a belkin N-1 (i Think) Never had any issues. HTH

    My other car. 1972 1641cc slammed beetle. On the road finally!!

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    North west
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I doubt BT do a cable router, more likely designed for broadband received from a phone line. I haven't yet seen a router that didnt work and they rarely go wrong. You could try changing your channel as they all default to the middle channels, go towards the first or last channels. Also worth checking to see if there are any firmware updates on router manufactures web site, I updated mine a while ago and it was a noticeable difference in speed and holds a signal better if your a distance away. The best ones I have set up have an extended range feature - handy if your loosing a signal. That's the only extra feature I would look for if I changed mine. I got a cheap "Peak" router although I have used Trendnet and Linksys at home over the years all without a problem.

  10. #10
    Regular Member JSYSH466Y's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Newcastle under Lyme
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by steve1975l View Post
    I use a Netgear DG834T wireless but it has 4 wired ports.
    Same one, with the wireless USB dongle. At the time it was one of the only ones which worked with 20Mb Virgin without cabling the house up

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Wireless router
    By steve1975l in forum General Chat
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 17th September 2008, 22:21
  2. anyone use a router ?
    By rob 2.2dti in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15th July 2008, 00:31
  3. What router do i need???
    By Auto-Brite in forum General Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 24th November 2007, 15:52
  4. What's the best router to buy
    By Madgunner in forum General Chat
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 24th September 2007, 20:43
  5. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 29th November 2006, 10:17

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •