User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: Breaking into reversing circuit...

  1. #1
    Full Member Penfold101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Combination of Preston and Oxfordshire...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Breaking into reversing circuit...

    One for the electrical geniuses on here...

    I'm looking at fitting a reversing camera, plugging it into the CD70 colour screen as per the various discussions on here, and it all seems pretty straight forward apart form one thing - turning it on...

    Most people have used the function to add a video/DVD/PC function, and all these have an on/off switch which (as shown in various videos) acts as an interupt and automatically switches the display to the external input - in this case my camera.

    Most of the ones I've been looking at on eBay have a cigarette lighter as the power source, so that's easy enough to hardwire in, my only issue is how to turn the power on and off without having a switch...

    In a normal car, I'd just piggy-back it onto the power lines for the reverse lights - reverse gear selected, lights go on, power goes to camera and switches display over.

    However, as we all know the CANBUS would probably throw a hissy fit at me doing that (although if you can fit a redtop into it, who knows what's possible...)

    so, in a nutshell, anyone have any other ideas...? Or do we think that it might actually work as I've described it...?:

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Kent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Fiat

    Trim : Panda 100HP

    Engine : 1.4

    Year : 08

    Default

    How about a micro switch on the g/selector?

  3. #3
    Full Member Penfold101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Combination of Preston and Oxfordshire...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tyreman View Post
    How about a micro switch on the g/selector?
    Considered that - where is the switch for the lights to start with though? Is it in the gearbox itself...?

  4. #4
    Regular Member Tadpole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    'I haven’t lost my marbles, they’re in a bag somewhere? .. '
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Penfold101 View Post
    Considered that - where is the switch for the lights to start with though? Is it in the gearbox itself...?
    F23/F35/F40 transmision all seem to have a plunger type switch screwed into the selector lever housing so says the 'h manual' hth .............

  5. #5
    Full Member Penfold101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Combination of Preston and Oxfordshire...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Aha - a genius, cheers tadders... I hadn't even thought of doing that, I shall go have a look later on...

  6. #6
    Regular Member steve1975l's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Surrey
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Mine and every other persons reverse sensors are on this circuit without a problem. I don't see feeding a camera as being a problem.

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Bristol
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    just splice the reverve light power supply just like you do for reverse sensors

  8. #8
    Regular Member adfrodsham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    lincoln
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    or conect a wire to reverse light wire on rear light loom?

  9. #9
    Full Member Penfold101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Combination of Preston and Oxfordshire...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Never thought of how people did parking sensors - cheers guys I shall experiment with this when I get round to it and see what happens...

  10. #10
    Regular Member ditchp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The world famous city ground
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra cdti estate

    Trim : Get a

    Engine : Dirty diesel

    Year : 2006

    Default

    cut a small bit of sheathing away and splice the joint, don't use a scotch block as this will make CanBus cry.....
    Midlands Mod Shop - NFFC.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. ddm open circuit????????
    By jpbroad1970 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 5th January 2012, 23:55
  2. fan relay circuit 3
    By cruicky27 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th October 2010, 13:26
  3. anyone know how to tap into cig lighter circuit?
    By Morephun in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 17th February 2010, 21:46
  4. Croft Circuit
    By Dunc in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31st July 2008, 22:14

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •