User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: To change from 302 - 314

  1. #1
    Regular Member installer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Nottingham
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default To change from 302 - 314

    brakes ,apart from discs and pads and some bolts ,would you just need new carriers or is it not as simple as that?
    I`ve read that it`s just carriers at 75 notes from a stealer per side.
    Can any one offer assitance on this?

  2. #2
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    New carriers and calipers as well. LMF do a kit or keep an eye out on e-bay. Duncan has just sold a set I think on here, have a look to see if they are gone or not
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  3. #3
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    No, you definitely need the 314 calipers. 302 calipers simply won't fit onto the 314mm discs, nor will the 314mm pads fit into the 302 calipers.

    Where did you read that it's just carriers?

    EDIT: Yep, mine have been sold pending payment - with a second person in the queue as well!

  4. #4
    Regular Member installer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Nottingham
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I must of misunder the post that said about it being just the carriers.
    An easy question I suppose is - can you change 302 into 314 mm brakes?
    Also how can you tell if you have 302 or 314 calipers?

    Quote Originally Posted by Big Sig View Post
    keep an eye out on e-bay. Duncan has just sold a set I think on here, have a look to see if they are gone or not
    I know I keep missing them
    Last edited by n_hudson; 6th May 2009 at 20:06.

  5. #5
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by installer View Post
    I must of misunder the post that said about it being just the carriers.
    An easy question I suppose is - can you change 302 into 314 mm brakes?
    Also how can you tell if you have 302 or 314 calipers?
    If you have 302mm disks it will be 302mm calipers as they are different.

    You need to change the whole lot to go from 302's to 314's.
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  6. #6
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by installer View Post
    Also how can you tell if you have 302 or 314 calipers?
    314mm calipers are significantly larger to the eye, and obviously the discs are larger.

    If you're meaning on your car then you'll have 285mm fronts with it being a 1.9.

  7. #7
    Regular Member installer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Nottingham
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    this could get confusing so let me re ask the question

    can you change 302 mm brake setup into the 314 mm brake setup?

    and

    how can you tell if you have a 302mm caliper or a 314mm cailper?

    Quote Originally Posted by Duncan View Post
    314mm calipers are significantly larger to the eye, and obviously the discs are larger.


    So the 302 caliper is not the same as the 314?

    If you're meaning on your car then you'll have 285mm fronts with it being a 1.9.
    Yes i have the lack luster 285`s I realised that long ago
    Last edited by n_hudson; 6th May 2009 at 20:05.

  8. #8
    Full Member Penfold101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Combination of Preston and Oxfordshire...
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    yes, you can fit any brake size to the Vectras mate, when you take off the calipers, carriers and the discs, all you're left with is the hub and shock absorber strut. Onto this you can then bolt any of the setups, as the carriers all have the same space between the mounting holes, and all the discs fit. plent of threads on here from people who have done it, including Duncan (several times...)

  9. #9
    Regular Member installer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Nottingham
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The reason i ask is this
    http://www.vectra-c.com/forum/showthread.php?t=80599

    gsi calipers but what size are they ?no one knows.

    So that is why I want to know can you change 302 into 314 without buying the whole new set up for 314?
    How can you tell if it`s a 302 or 314 caliper

  10. #10
    Full Member Penfold101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Combination of Preston and Oxfordshire...
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Nope, it's a whole new setup to go from 302 to 314 mate...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Automatic Gearbox Oil - Change Or Not Change?
    By rocket999 in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 24th May 2013, 17:50
  2. Manifold change poll: Actuator change or not
    By hertscol in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 22nd May 2012, 18:52
  3. Oil Change
    By scw02102 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 22nd March 2012, 10:45
  4. Change Discs - Change pads?!?!
    By Leemarksmith in forum Suspension, Wheels & Brakes
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th April 2010, 09:54

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •