User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 37

Thread: Memory upgrade question.

  1. #1
    Regular Member rushy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Old School Vectra-C.Com. Residing in sunny Leeds.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : SRi


    Engine : Z22SE (2.2 Petrol)

    Year : 2004

    Mileage : 137000

    Default Memory upgrade question.

    One for you computer guys out there. My laptop is running 1 256mb in one slot and the other is empty. I've just bought 2x 1 GB so a GB in each slot. My question is, when I take the single 256mb out, will I lose anything, programs, photos ect?

    Cheers

    Steve

  2. #2
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    No you won't

    Can your laptop support the new memory?
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Birstall
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Exclusive


    Engine : 1.9

    Year : 2007

    Default

    no everything will be fine aslong as the laptop can support the high memory

  4. #4
    Regular Member Tadpole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    'I haven’t lost my marbles, they’re in a bag somewhere? .. '
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Big Sig View Post
    No you won't

    Can your laptop support the new memory?
    Quote Originally Posted by magpie27 View Post
    no everything will be fine aslong as the laptop can support the high memory
    This may help you find if your laptop will be ok hth .........
    http://www.aememory.co.uk/
    or this one
    http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/drammemory.aspx

  5. #5
    Regular Member rushy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Old School Vectra-C.Com. Residing in sunny Leeds.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : SRi


    Engine : Z22SE (2.2 Petrol)

    Year : 2004

    Mileage : 137000

    Default

    I just downloaded a tool from Crucial.com It scans your computer, tells you what you have, then tells you what you can put in. The 2 cost me £22 all in. I will post up the scan.

  6. #6
    Regular Member Tadpole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    'I haven’t lost my marbles, they’re in a bag somewhere? .. '
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rushy View Post
    I just downloaded a tool from Crucial.com It scans your computer, tells you what you have, then tells you what you can put in. The 2 cost me £22 all in. I will post up the scan.
    Sounds like you had a good deal Mr Rush ...............

  7. #7
    Regular Member rushy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Old School Vectra-C.Com. Residing in sunny Leeds.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : SRi


    Engine : Z22SE (2.2 Petrol)

    Year : 2004

    Mileage : 137000

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tadpole View Post
    Sounds like you had a good deal Mr Rush ...............
    Did the same scan on my work Dell Lappy and for the same 2x 1gb upgrade it would cost £90

    HERE you go, this is from my scan.

  8. #8
    Full Member Penfold101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Combination of Preston and Oxfordshire...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    If it only came with 256 I'd be surprised if it could take 1GB in each, but you never know...

    FYI, the memory is volatile stuff - ie unless there is a power supply to it it can't hold the data. A hard drive its the opposite, and is more permanent not requirting a permanent power source...

  9. #9
    Full Member Penfold101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Combination of Preston and Oxfordshire...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rushy View Post
    HERE you go, this is from my scan.
    Only other thing to check is the speeds of it dude - should be about 333MHz ish...

  10. #10
    Regular Member Tadpole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    'I haven’t lost my marbles, they’re in a bag somewhere? .. '
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rushy View Post
    Did the same scan on my work Dell Lappy and for the same 2x 1gb upgrade it would cost £90

    HERE you go, this is from my scan.
    It depends on the type of ram required, so now you should find the laptop works a lot quicker. I do a Disk Clean up at the end of every day & a Defrag about once a week hth ..........

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Sorry - another display upgrade question
    By Chris B in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 20th March 2012, 13:51
  2. Rear brake upgrade question.
    By John LE in forum Handling & Braking
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9th August 2009, 20:55
  3. GID and Stereo upgrade question
    By redraptor_141 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 24th May 2009, 22:46
  4. bulb upgrade question
    By nph1 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th May 2007, 18:23
  5. Another Light Upgrade Question
    By jka in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20th November 2005, 16:05

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •