User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30

Thread: Windows lisence question

  1. #1
    Regular Member aerodynamic18's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Lisburn, N.Ireland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Windows lisence question

    guys i have a comp which has xp on it. now the gf has a laptop which has died and we have bought her a new one. i have just noticed it has xp profesional. now i need to reformat my comp so i was thinking could i put her xp on it as its better than mine and would any problem happen? ie windows thinking it was a copy??

  2. #2
    Regular Member n_hudson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Northampton, UK
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    You own the licence so you can install it on any home pc/laptop you want... but only one! If you install it and activate it on line, it'll come up with a number you have to call, they ask you a few Q's about the owner of the licence and why its on another computer etc... they are fine about it. I moved my Xp from a home PC to my Apple Mac.

  3. #3
    Regular Member Tadpole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    'I haven’t lost my marbles, they’re in a bag somewhere? .. '
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by n_hudson View Post
    You own the licence so you can install it on any home pc/laptop you want... but only one! If you install it and activate it on line, it'll come up with a number you have to call, they ask you a few Q's about the owner of the licence and why its on another computer etc... they are fine about it. I moved my Xp from a home PC to my Apple Mac.
    I would think this is in order as I have done something similar together with Norton IS when a harddrive died hth .......

  4. #4
    Regular Member the fisherman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    manchester
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    yes thats ok

  5. #5
    Regular Member aerodynamic18's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Lisburn, N.Ireland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    brill. only thing is i dont have the disks for either but i have both licenses lol

  6. #6
    Regular Member mhvcbv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    cambs
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aerodynamic18 View Post
    brill. only thing is i dont have the disks for either but i have both licenses lol
    give microsoft a ring and they will send you a disk.
    i had the same problem when the kids scatched my disk.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Nottingham
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    To Clarify

    Does yours have XP Home and your gf XP Pro, if so putting pro on yours is illegal!

  8. #8
    Regular Member aerodynamic18's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Lisburn, N.Ireland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    yea i have home and she has pro but her comp is totally dead and i will be distroying the hd before we bin it and she has vista now so i dont see what the problem would be

  9. #9
    Regular Member n_hudson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Northampton, UK
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    You could buy just the disc off ebay, as long as its not a bundle disc that came with a Dell etc, but an actual Windows OS and is the right Service pack according to your Licence. Or borrow one from someone you know? Then make the restore discs for your computer, this will then be all you need to reformat the computer again in the future I believe.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Nottingham
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    There is no problem except that OEM licences remain with the PC/Laptop, they are not transferable.....

    As you say though you could use the code on your pc....

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. question for all the windows 7 gurus
    By hoochydady in forum General Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 20th March 2011, 19:53
  2. Rear Electric Windows Question
    By Bethan39 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 27th May 2010, 19:16
  3. Windows Wipers and Windows Washers
    By kevrod79 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 19th February 2009, 09:58
  4. windows
    By big tee in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15th January 2009, 10:43
  5. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 7th June 2007, 12:54

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •