User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

View Poll Results: is it worth doing???

Voters
43. You may not vote on this poll
  • yeah, i really like it.

    25 58.14%
  • why bother?

    8 18.60%
  • no, i wouldnt waste my time.

    10 23.26%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: is it worth the hastle???

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Hunwick, County Durham.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default is it worth the hastle???

    im after changing the standard boring display on the dash, that displays the time and date to the one that shows MPG and projected range,
    but my question is this,
    is it really worth the time, money and effort for the computer????
    i really liked having the projected range in my vec B, i just dont want to spend loads of money to get it, i could justify around £80 all in to get it done. how much has it cost people to change it and get it tech2d???

  2. #2
    Regular Member danBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Northampton
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    You need to change your dash harness to a higher spec one so you have the right plug

  3. #3
    Regular Member mhvcbv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    cambs
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by danBoy View Post
    You need to change your dash harness to a higher spec one so you have the right plug
    No you dont
    all you need to do is just change the plug

  4. #4
    Forum Moderator John LE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Forfar, Scotland
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It's quite smart and makes the car lot alot more classy

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Hunwick, County Durham.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    thanks for the poll results and replys so far.
    what about changing it for a CID????? how much should i be looking at paying for that?? if i can get the CID and radio from the same car, would i need a tech2 session to get it to work??? and would i need the wiper stalk aswell???
    cheers, mick.

  6. #6
    Full Member andy.l's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Wirral / ellesmere port
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    all the display unit plugs are the same ones,theres no others that are
    different but it just may need few extra wires added to the plug but im sure
    that if you just fit the new display then it shud work after tech2 to
    configure all settings.
    2011 insignia elite tourer 2.0 cdti 160 manual,silver

  7. #7
    Regular Member mhvcbv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    cambs
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by andy.l View Post
    all the display unit plugs are the same ones,theres no others that are
    different but it just may need few extra wires added to the plug but im sure
    that if you just fit the new display then it shud work after tech2 to
    configure all settings.
    the tid plugs are differant

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Hunwick, County Durham.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    how can i tell the difference between CID/GID without turning the ignition on?? im off to a local scrapyard tomorrow and would like the CID but the GID will do. how do i take the wiper stalk off??

  9. #9
    Regular Member mhvcbv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    cambs
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mick 1986 View Post
    how can i tell the difference between CID/GID without turning the ignition on?? im off to a local scrapyard tomorrow and would like the CID but the GID will do. how do i take the wiper stalk off??
    the cid will only work with the correct head unit and its paired to the radio.
    the stalk just pulls out
    be firm and pull

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Hunwick, County Durham.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mhvcbv View Post
    the cid will only work with the correct head unit and its paired to the radio.
    the stalk just pulls out
    be firm and pull
    yeah, thats why i was planning on taking the display and radio. if i can get both and fit both together, it wont need tech2 will it???

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Is it worth it?
    By Fishmichael in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th May 2010, 00:21
  2. LPG - is it worth it?
    By KevinG in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 17th May 2010, 19:00
  3. What is it worth?
    By wardy in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 19th January 2008, 01:38
  4. Is it worth it?
    By Guyver1 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 11th January 2008, 23:41
  5. bit of hastle today
    By Beavis in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 24th June 2006, 22:43

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •