User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Port Scans

  1. #1
    Regular Member sph73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Market Drayton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Port Scans

    Hey just wondered if any one could help.
    I seem to get quite a lot of port scan warnings on my sygate firewall I just wondered if this was normal or if there is a problem.
    I went on help on sygate and did all their tests and the computer seems stealthed I also run adaware and spybot regularly.

  2. #2
    Regular Member Spikey©'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    In the sponge-monkey tent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    If you're getting the warnings then Sygate is protecting you. If you have a broadband connection that is always on such as that using a router with a static IP address then this is quite normal. You can turn the alerts off in Sygate, but it's a while since I used it and couldn't tell you the exact procedure.

    These port scans are usually automated robots looking for open ports on computers to attack, any decent firewall (Sygate included) will block these scans if correctly configured and yours seems to be doing just that. Even if they found an open port, the likelyhood of an attack on a home user is slim.

  3. #3
    Regular Member The Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    'Norf Yorks.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Normal. I could print you a log off my Watchguard Firebox if you like, it would show you how many hits we get per minute on a leased line. Madness.

  4. #4
    Regular Member sph73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Market Drayton
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks very much guys for putting my mind at rest

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Wiltshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Most of the ones I used to get were by BT in Manchester! My old firewall had a tracking device thing where you could see who was probing your back passage.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. OBD port(s)?
    By R-man in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 13th April 2012, 18:04
  2. Iso Port to Quadlock Port
    By Jez1516 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3rd December 2011, 01:35
  3. aux port???
    By evo1702 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th January 2010, 09:16
  4. Aux Port
    By jackolfc86 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12th August 2009, 17:06
  5. Aux In Port
    By leeds vectra in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 1st December 2007, 11:49

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •