Thread: Novice....need a little assistance

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

Default Novice....need a little assistance

Firstly hello all and welcome to one of my first posts.

Just in need of a little help as I own a 2.0 dti with 87,000 miles on the clock and I am a complete novice butam keen to learn and this forum looks like the place to start.

1) I think the How2 section is great and have found some great tips and hints on there, am I confident I dont know yet. But anyway I would like to start servicing my vehicle what are the best parts to get e.g type of oil, air filter etc for a full service by myself, dont know if its possible and what parts are needed???

2) Car takes a while to start in morning before beginning to smoke for a few seconds then seems to run okay. Does seem a little sluggish in lower gears as well as sounding like a taxi (I hope that makes sense the taxi part) I have viewed several posts and cometo the conclusion my piston seals need replacing does this sound right??? and any tips for making car pick up better and run smoother, seen the how 2 on egr valve cleaning and might attempt that, would that make a difference??

3) Any other tips would be great and may I thank you for this great site everything I have learnt has been on this site and done in a short space of time so thanks

Rob

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

And what does a taxi sound like

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

Quote Originally Posted by garvey View Post
    And what does a taxi sound like
    Go outside and start ur engine to find out

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

Quote Originally Posted by Pecojess View Post
    Go outside and start ur engine to find out
    Why didnt I think of that

Post Thanks / Like