User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: CD70 GPS single problem - Update :(

  1. #1
    VIP-Member MCD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Romiley
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : 2007 Vectra

    Trim : SRi XP Saphirre Black

    Engine : 2.0 16v Turbo

    Year : 2007

    Mileage : 60k

    Default CD70 GPS single problem - Update :(

    Hi guys,

    Well, i think it must be a fault with the headunit. Ive tried the aerial which came with it in front and rear windows, and now a brand new aerial in same position.

    Sometimes it gets signal instant, sometimes it just wont get signal unless i eject the CD and re insert. But ive found even this doesnt always work.

    The only 100% sure way of signal quickly or instantly is to eject CD, turn of unit. Listen for CD mech or whatever it is to wur into a position?? Wait 10 secs and then turn back on. This gets signal almost instantly even without CD in.

    The last two nights, ive left the CD out all night, and when come to car in morning, it doesnt take long atall to get GPD, maybe 20sec at most. Then i put the CD in, and it works fine.

    What i have noticed is, when i unlock car and get in, i can hear bottom CD drive wuring slightly, even before i turn ignition and unit on... is this normal?

    Off course this is a right pain in the arse! Any more ideas please guys? Or, is there a techy guru you can recommend to have a look at it please??

    Cheers

    Mike


    Noobtune 220bhp / 270lb - (07) 2.0 turbo SRi XP NAV - PLUS SUNROOF!

  2. #2
    Regular Member BigP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Heated, Electric Recaro Leather
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MCD View Post
    What i have noticed is, when i unlock car and get in, i can hear bottom CD drive wuring slightly, even before i turn ignition and unit on... is this normal?
    Sorry to hear your still having problems mate.
    It is normal for the CD to start spinning as soon as you open the door. HTH

  3. #3
    Regular Member sig63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Opel Insignia

    Trim : Cosmo

    Engine : 2.0 CDTI

    Year : 2011

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MCD View Post
    What i have noticed is, when i unlock car and get in, i can hear bottom CD drive wuring slightly, even before i turn ignition and unit on... is this normal?
    yes

    ... and I wonder if this is the cause of your problem: the moment you open the door, the satnav tries to find the location of the car, but perhaps your aerial has no power at that moment... when you insert the disc, it reinitializes again; so I understand that when you do this with ignition on, everything goes fine

  4. #4
    Regular Member 900ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Bucks
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MCD View Post
    Hi guys,

    Well, i think it must be a fault with the headunit. Ive tried the aerial which came with it in front and rear windows, and now a brand new aerial in same position.

    Cheers

    Mike
    Mike 101% wasn't a fault with the unit when it was in my car
    For sure it worked every time it was switched on.
    Why you're still having issues I dont know. Assuming you have the aerial n nav aerial plugged in the right holes lol ?
    Can't see it being an area thing, so can only put it down the the aerial itself?
    Not sure but I assume the O.E proper nav aerial is powered, whereas those you are using aren't?
    Can anyone confirm that?
    Could that cause the probs you are having?

  5. #5
    Admin & Merchandise Manager bigmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Devon
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    56 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : insignia

    Trim : irmscher

    Engine : 2.0 cdti

    Year : 2009

    Default

    The O.E aerials are powered its a signal booster so might make a difference,best bet would be to get hold of a O.E aerial and try it before shelling out on some one looking at HU
    You will need to find a donor car and remove aerial lead this plugs into a connector on drivers side footwell down by bonnet release,then unplug other lead and trace it back and remove from loom if you get stuck pm me i know where theres a 06 navi and it might have the wiring still there for aerial but not the aerial as i have it sitting next to my computer
    Last edited by bigmac; 12th April 2009 at 21:14.

  6. #6
    Regular Member steve1975l's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Surrey
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    You can get the extension lead from Ebay. Perhaps see how much they are at the dealer, you never know.

  7. #7
    VIP-Member MCD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Romiley
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : 2007 Vectra

    Trim : SRi XP Saphirre Black

    Engine : 2.0 16v Turbo

    Year : 2007

    Mileage : 60k

    Default

    Well,

    Been on holiday around Devon for 10 days. The physical NAV worked a treat, and often flagged up traffic alerts, and helped re-route me!

    But!! Still, its a sod to get signal first thing! Every morning i had to either turn on and wait 2 mins, or switch on & off, or eject CD etc....

    I guess i will just have to live with it! Its not the end of the world as i can always get it to work, just its not always automatic! I cant see why i need to upgrade to OE aerial though? As alot of you guys have gone aftermarket with the CD70 and aftermarket aerial no problem, i fear my issue is simpky the head unit

    Cheers for help!

    Mike


    Noobtune 220bhp / 270lb - (07) 2.0 turbo SRi XP NAV - PLUS SUNROOF!

  8. #8
    Regular Member Phil MC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Kirkie
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I'm going aftermarket with my aerial for my Nav70, but I made sure it was a GPS aerial with the coax connector and a power connector for the built in signal amplifier .

    Sounds like this could still be your problem if using non-amplified aerial.

    A simple gain of 3dB is equal to doubling your signal strength, and my new aerial has a signal gain of 12dB!!!!

    I just need to know how easy it is to change the Navi aerial and how to go about doing it so I don't trash my roof/ceiling interior trim???

    Cheers,

    Phil

  9. #9
    Admin & Merchandise Manager bigmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Devon
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    56 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : insignia

    Trim : irmscher

    Engine : 2.0 cdti

    Year : 2009

    Default

    Are you changing your OEM Aeriel Phil ? if so its easy to change i would remove grab handles on drivers rear and pull seal away from door and top rear boot then pull headlining down,you will see the aeriel its bolted on with a 17mm bolt remove plugs and undo bolt

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. CD70 firmware update problem
    By C-Owner in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 31st May 2011, 21:15
  2. CD70 update problem
    By delica1988 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14th October 2009, 20:18
  3. CD70 Update CD
    By MattDC in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 17th September 2009, 21:52
  4. CD70 update cd
    By shan in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 15th January 2008, 10:59
  5. cd70 update?
    By JonR in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5th December 2007, 21:30

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •