User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 53

Thread: CD70 everytime i start up no GPS?

  1. #1
    VIP-Member MCD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    NE Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : 2007 Vectra

    Trim : SRi XP T Saphirre Black

    Engine : z20net

    Year : 2007

    Mileage : 80k

    Default CD70 everytime i start up no GPS?

    Hi Guys,

    Firstly its a retro fit. But its all on OE plugs & wiring and has worked fine for few days now. However, on saturday i tried to fit a denision icepod link. I had some trouble with the aeriel connection on the denison so decided to discard it until i can get a new aeriel adapter for it. So i re assembled everything.

    Since then, when i start up the car, ive notice GPS has a red line through it on the display. The only way ive found to get this working again is eject the NAV CD, and put it back in. Sometimes it starts straight away doing this. Sometimes i have to eject it a few times!

    Then this morning coming to work, after id faffed with it ejecting etc.... coming into buxton a slight flicker of screen, then 'intialising NAV' flashed up! Then it went off... then GPS with line through again! So i ejected CD and re inserted.. and then all fine again!

    The thing is, the NAV works perfect when its on, bang on accurate and all fine!

    Ive double checked the wires in back of headunit... they are all fine and unaffected! Im just wondering, is it worth disconnecting it all and re installing the whole setup again? Is this a common fault?

    Any suggestions?

    Cheers peeps!

    Mike


    Noobtune 220bhp / 270lb - (07) 2.0 turbo SRi XP1 NAV - SUNROOF/AFL/CD70/XP2'd

  2. #2
    Regular Member steve1975l's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Surrey
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Is the disc genuine and not scratched?

  3. #3
    VIP-Member MCD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    NE Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : 2007 Vectra

    Trim : SRi XP T Saphirre Black

    Engine : z20net

    Year : 2007

    Mileage : 80k

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by steve1975l View Post
    Is the disc genuine and not scratched?
    Hi,

    Yes the disc is genuine... good point on the scratch! Could it be that simple? Does it need the disc to get signal?

    I best go check!

    Cheers

    Mike


    Noobtune 220bhp / 270lb - (07) 2.0 turbo SRi XP1 NAV - SUNROOF/AFL/CD70/XP2'd

  4. #4
    Regular Member steve1975l's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Surrey
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Worth checking before getting a GPS aerial. Are you sure you didn't damage the connector?

  5. #5
    Regular Member steve1975l's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Surrey
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Is the aerial OEM or aftermarket?

  6. #6
    VIP-Member MCD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    NE Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : 2007 Vectra

    Trim : SRi XP T Saphirre Black

    Engine : z20net

    Year : 2007

    Mileage : 80k

    Default

    Been outside now, switched on headunit.... 'intialising Navigation' then, GPS with line through it.

    So i ejected the CD, had a look at it, no marks or anything, re-inserted CD, and instantly all was working fine, and location showing on screen! (correctly)

    Which connector may i have damaged Steve? The GPS one?

    The only thing throwing me, is when NAV is on... it works fine and 100% accurately... its a start up issue i appear to be having? And to behonest, after messing with the denision a few times, i went out, and GPS worked straight away. Later that day GPS worked straight away again.

    It wasnt till weekend that it started doing this, with no messing in between?

    Mike


    Noobtune 220bhp / 270lb - (07) 2.0 turbo SRi XP1 NAV - SUNROOF/AFL/CD70/XP2'd

  7. #7
    VIP-Member MCD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    NE Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : 2007 Vectra

    Trim : SRi XP T Saphirre Black

    Engine : z20net

    Year : 2007

    Mileage : 80k

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by steve1975l View Post
    Is the aerial OEM or aftermarket?
    After market, its one on a magnet which attaches to inner wing.... but the connection is identical to teh OE one, its a blue plug, fits perfect.

    Like i say, did work normally for few days! And works fine now, just having issues getting GPS at start up?

    Mike


    Noobtune 220bhp / 270lb - (07) 2.0 turbo SRi XP1 NAV - SUNROOF/AFL/CD70/XP2'd

  8. #8
    Regular Member steve1975l's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Surrey
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I think the GPS/CD70 comes alive to get a fix when you unlock the car. Try unlocking the car and waiting for a minute then turn radio on but my money is on the GPS aerial.

  9. #9
    VIP-Member MCD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    NE Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : 2007 Vectra

    Trim : SRi XP T Saphirre Black

    Engine : z20net

    Year : 2007

    Mileage : 80k

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by steve1975l View Post
    I think the GPS/CD70 comes alive to get a fix when you unlock the car. Try unlocking the car and waiting for a minute then turn radio on but my money is on the GPS aerial.
    Can i fit an OE aerial? Or is there a recommended aftermarket aerial for all this?

    What confuses me is, all i have to do is take CD out, put CD back in, and all works 100% fine? So the Aerial must be working to some extent! Ive used NAV fully now on four different 20mile journeys all fine?

    I can see me spending loads on different parts here if im not careful..

    Mike


    Noobtune 220bhp / 270lb - (07) 2.0 turbo SRi XP1 NAV - SUNROOF/AFL/CD70/XP2'd

  10. #10
    Regular Member steve1975l's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Surrey
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Not sure how much and aerial and an extension lead costs. You should get a stronger signal as well.

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. wh does ny car give me an electric shock everytime i get out
    By antowens in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 3rd December 2012, 08:32
  2. Changing CD70 start up logo?
    By byebyeitsagsi in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 25th January 2011, 08:15

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •