User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: My TC switch didn't work BUT NOW IT DOES

  1. #1
    Regular Member darby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    www.NinjaUK.com
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Talking My TC switch didn't work BUT NOW IT DOES

    I bought a traction control switch from the dealers, as many have, and it didn't work. It lit up and looked pretty but that was all.

    The required part of the loom was missing - as is the case with a lot of vectras.

    I ran a wire from pin 3 on the ECU through a grommit behind the glove box and connected it to the blue/red wire on the back of the TC switch.

    I then connected the black/brown wire at the back of the TC switch to ground (I used part of the stereo harness).

    Hey presto - IT WORKS!!!

    All-in-all it took about an hour or so to do!

  2. #2
    Regular Member parsco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Nice one mate. Wanna do mine sometime

  3. #3
    Full Member spennny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Blantyre
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    What is PIN 3 on the ECU ??

  4. #4
    Regular Member glenboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Sunny Dartmoor
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Result........

  5. #5
    Regular Member darby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    www.NinjaUK.com
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by spennny View Post
    What is PIN 3 on the ECU ??
    See photo below

  6. #6
    Regular Member Penfold101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Combination of Preston and Oxfordshire...
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I'm no expert, but I assume that isn't the ABS computer you've plugged it into...? I have no idea where the ECU is on the Vectras, but I know what the ABS module looks like...

  7. #7
    Regular Member kenp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kr. Hyllinge, Denmark
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C


    Engine : 2.2 Direct

    Year : 2004

    Default

    nice job. then theres us that dont have any wires behind the TC-switch..

  8. #8
    Regular Member darby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    www.NinjaUK.com
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Penfold101 View Post
    I'm no expert, but I assume that isn't the ABS computer you've plugged it into...? I have no idea where the ECU is on the Vectras, but I know what the ABS module looks like...
    It is the ABS ECU.

    ie an electronic unit that controls the ABS

  9. #9
    Regular Member Big Knox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I assume the topic should be "my TC SWITCH didn't work but now it does" rather than "my TC didn't work...." or did you not have TC before?

  10. #10
    Regular Member big rich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    birmingham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra gsi

    Trim : Full heated leather

    Engine : 3200

    Year : 2004

    Default

    well done m8

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. If you have fitted TC (traction control) Switch did it work?
    By korlinski in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 205
    Last Post: 2nd November 2016, 07:50
  2. Make sport switch work
    By marc vectra sri in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 25th July 2012, 21:07
  3. 2.0t traction control, wires behind dash but switch doesnt work
    By taffy bhoy in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd August 2011, 08:29
  4. headlight switch window switch in blue
    By delboy2028 in forum Parts for sale
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th May 2010, 08:56

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •