User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Tech2 to adjust speedo??

  1. #1
    Regular Member parsco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    confused Tech2 to adjust speedo??

    As the title says is this possible? I've recently fitted my snowflakes and i want to make sure that i'm not going faster than i should be. Can i just take it to Vauxhall?

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Regular Member big rich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    birmingham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra gsi

    Trim : Full heated leather

    Engine : 3200

    Year : 2004

    Default

    interested in this thread

  3. #3
    Regular Member MalcGSI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    E Sussex & Kent
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    If you've put the correct tyres 235/35/19 on then there's no need.

  4. #4
    Regular Member big rich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    birmingham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra gsi

    Trim : Full heated leather

    Engine : 3200

    Year : 2004

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MalcGSI View Post
    If you've put the correct tyres 235/35/19 on then there's no need.
    i have,
    my sat nav is stating 4mph faster than the cars clock?....im posative it never use to be like that before the flakes were fitted

  5. #5
    Ex Vec-C Admin ed taylor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Looking Through a Camera Lens.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra Estate

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 3.2 V6

    Year : 04

    Mileage : 000

    Default

    I would have thought you can. Perhaps Duncan will be able to answer the question as he has a form of "tech 2".

  6. #6
    Regular Member big rich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    birmingham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra gsi

    Trim : Full heated leather

    Engine : 3200

    Year : 2004

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ed taylor View Post
    I would have thought you can. Perhaps Duncan will be able to answer the question as he has a form of "tech 2".
    cheers ed

  7. #7
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    You'll have probably gained a little bit of extra 'error' by changing the wheels, but probably not enough to be worried about - it'll just be maybe reading another 1mph over from what it was.

    In reply to your question - yes, you can get the setting changed in Tech 2 but is it worth paying for a Tech 2 session for that?

    Equally, Vaux-COM can do it so if you were ever at a meet at the same time as me I'd adjust it for you no probs.

    Rich - your speedo would have always overread by at least a couple of mph even with your standard wheels on. The larger wheels will have simply increased that error slightly more.

    Quote Originally Posted by ed taylor View Post
    I would have thought you can. Perhaps Duncan will be able to answer the question as he has a form of "tech 2".
    EDIT: And here I am! lol

  8. #8
    Regular Member big rich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    birmingham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra gsi

    Trim : Full heated leather

    Engine : 3200

    Year : 2004

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Duncan View Post
    You'll have probably gained a little bit of extra 'error' by changing the wheels, but probably not enough to be worried about - it'll just be maybe reading another 1mph over from what it was.

    In reply to your question - yes, you can get the setting changed in Tech 2 but is it worth paying for a Tech 2 session for that?

    Equally, Vaux-COM can do it so if you were ever at a meet at the same time as me I'd adjust it for you no probs.

    Rich - your speedo would have always overread by at least a couple of mph even with your standard wheels on. The larger wheels will have simply increased that error slightly more.
    i panic at speed cameras now so if its a 30mph i do 25mph and if its 40mph i do around 35mph, im going to have to get it done as its really bugging me

  9. #9
    Regular Member parsco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Duncan View Post
    Equally, Vaux-COM can do it so if you were ever at a meet at the same time as me I'd adjust it for you no probs.
    That sounds alright, i'll probably just leave it then. Can you also activate (if it needs it) my TC switch using your form of tech2?

  10. #10
    Regular Member LJ sxi-nav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Winchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by big rich View Post
    my sat nav is stating 4mph faster than the cars clock?....im posative it never use to be like that before the flakes were fitted
    Quote Originally Posted by Duncan View Post
    Rich - your speedo would have always overread by at least a couple of mph even with your standard wheels on. The larger wheels will have simply increased that error slightly more.

    Wouldn't sat-nav normally UNDER read the indicated speed? I.e. the car's speedo will be over reading the actual speed reported by SAT-nav?

    So at an indicated 60mph, sat-nav might say 58mph. It would be an MOT failure if it was the other way around surely?
    Last edited by LJ sxi-nav; 18th March 2009 at 13:56.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Handbrake? is it self adjust?
    By dave1419 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17th February 2013, 12:31
  2. headlight adjust
    By vectraross in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 24th August 2012, 15:01
  3. how do i adjust my headlights??
    By bangty 1 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 19th October 2010, 16:41
  4. Help please, how to adjust the headlights
    By PeterVV in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 6th October 2010, 21:10
  5. Clock adjust
    By johnny1983 in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 28th October 2009, 18:12

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •