User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35

Thread: Any computer tech's on hear???????

  1. #1
    Regular Member glynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    stevenage, hertfordshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Any computer tech's on hear???????

    I have a nakered hard drive which has about 500+ pics and some important emails on it, ive had it checked out and the needle is knocking on the side of the 2 discs in side and needs to be opened in a dust free both and retreive the data and put it onto a disc, 1 company has qouted me £350 for this, and i cant aford that amount at the moment, so if any one can help me out it would be most apperciated

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Nottingham
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I would snap there hand off, thats a bargion price if you really need the data. Last one we sent of for a client was £700 +VAT plus the new disk for the data to go on.

    Andy

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    North west
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    im afraid that is the price for data recovery - too late to say always always back up !

  4. #4
    On a Sabbatical VauxVeteran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Nicking Ya Dinner.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Glynn, what model and how old, is it showing up in the bios?

  5. #5
    Regular Member glynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    stevenage, hertfordshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by VauxVeteran View Post
    Glynn, what model and how old, is it showing up in the bios?
    not to sound thick, but what is a bios? what the hard drive?

  6. #6
    On a Sabbatical VauxVeteran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Nicking Ya Dinner.
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Right, here goes Glynn, when the computer starts you get a black screen with load up of memory and devices before Windows loads, if you see the HD recognised there then the drive is still live, another way is to tap Delete on the keyboard and enter setup, this will be the bios screen, normally the 1st option is the one that lists detected HD's, find me the model number and how old it is and I can then take you through the right way and save you money hopefully.

  7. #7
    Regular Member glynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    stevenage, hertfordshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i have a new hard drive in my laptop now, it is a advent 7211 and is just over 18mths old, the old hard drive is the one i need my data from

  8. #8
    Regular Member Tadpole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    'I haven’t lost my marbles, they’re in a bag somewhere? .. '
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by VauxVeteran View Post
    Right, here goes Glynn, when the computer starts you get a black screen with load up of memory and devices before Windows loads, if you see the HD recognised there then the drive is still live, another way is to tap Delete on the keyboard and enter setup, this will be the bios screen, normally the 1st option is the one that lists detected HD's, find me the model number and how old it is and I can then take you through the right way and save you money hopefully.
    Now this looks interesting stuff the mods ..

  9. #9
    Regular Member Zark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Herts
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    350 is very cheap...!

    if it's plugged in - does it spin and does the computer 'see' it (ie: report that it's there) even if it can't read or write from/to it?

  10. #10
    Regular Member glynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    stevenage, hertfordshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zark View Post
    350 is very cheap...!

    if it's plugged in - does it spin and does the computer 'see' it (ie: report that it's there) even if it can't read or write from/to it?
    it just clicks when its runs

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Not what you want to hear...
    By ade0303 in forum Comedy & Humour
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th July 2010, 20:06
  2. if i hear the words.......
    By Adz86 in forum General Chat
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 8th August 2009, 17:52
  3. anyone added trip computer/board computer?
    By Craig1985 in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 24th August 2008, 02:33
  4. Can you hear it from there?
    By Spikey© in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 4th October 2007, 21:29
  5. How Did You Hear About.............
    By neilshaw1980 in forum General Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 26th July 2007, 21:03

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •