User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Microsoft to discontinue Elite consoles?

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    brumie brum brum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Microsoft to discontinue Elite consoles?

    SKU will be kept for limited edition releases in light of slowing sales at retail
    According to an article on Fudzilla , Microsoft will be stopping production of the Elite SKU and allowing inventory of the console to run down, saving it just for limited edition releases in the future. This lines up well with VGChartz feedback that the Elite SKU makesup only a small portion of total Xbox360 sales and that many retailers are becoming unhappy at stocking the system as they aren't moving as fast as Pro and Arcade SKUs.
    Limited edition releases will still be available for hardcore gamers "Once inventory is depleted, the Elite system will move to more of a limited edition role that will be available only at select retailers, and likely only in North America and Europe. The Elite consoles that will be available in these areas sbould be more like the recent Resident Evil 5 Red Elite Limited Edition console, rather than the standard Elite package that Microsoft has offered in the past. It is possible that the price tag on these Elite limited edition consoles could be higher, but they will be themed and likely include a top shelf title like Microsoft is doing with the Resident Evil 5 Red Elite Limited Edition console. In addition, the majority of Elite consoles are sold to hardcore gamers who know that they want an Elite and to that end Microsoft does not need to have every retailer offering the Elite as an option. From what we have been told, with the more Limited Edition format for the Elite, Microsoft can likely make a few more dollars from the console because of its limited edition nature."
    As part of this transition, Microsoft will begin offering a larger hard drive that is bigger than the 120GB drive that they are currently offering for those that either have an Arcade model and want to add the hard drive or those that have a Pro system and want to upgrade.
    All of this is still a rumour at this point, but a plausible one and Fudzilla have a good track record with Microsoft Rumours. We will bring you more on this as we get more information.


    SOURCE


    Kind of explains the recent Elite price drop.

  2. #2
    Regular Member yorkshireborn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Rotherham SouthYorkshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : saab 95


    Engine : 2.3t

    Year : 2006

    Default

    this info alone will add £50 to the selling price.

  3. #3
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Hmm, maybe time to upgrade to an Elite console whilst they've been dropped in price.

  4. #4
    Regular Member ukanalyst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Hmm really interesting ... so not much point in holding out for a Jasper chipset then if you're thinking of buying an Elite

  5. #5
    Regular Member ukanalyst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Cheshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Oh no ... now I'm seriously considering buying an Elite again ... arghhh...

  6. #6
    Regular Member discco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    staffordshire
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I buy these from main uk distributor, will ask about them on monday, we dont sell many elite consoles or arcades anymore, mainly premiums.

  7. #7
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Duncan View Post
    Hmm, maybe time to upgrade to an Elite console whilst they've been dropped in price.
    Couldn't resist! Amazon have got a great deal on with an Elite console, Wireless entertainment pack (wireless controller, 2 games - Kung Fu Panda and Lego Indy Jones) and a free HDMI cable for a smidge under £200.

    Does the Elite come with the transfer cable as standard to transfer the data across from my 20Gb drive?

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    south ockendon
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    no mate, you need to register and send off for one
    i got mine after a couple of weeks
    dont know why they cant include it in the elite box, its a pain but you can always just plug your 20gb one and use that till the cable turns up

  9. #9
    Administrator Big-Pete's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Home or in the Gym
    Problems Posted
    1
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    96 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Audi Q7

    Trim : S-Line Plus 245

    Engine : 3.0 TDV6

    Year : 2013

    Mileage : 3023

    Default

    As Steve said above, you'll need to register, but to do so you'll need the s/n off the elite..

    This is about the 3rd time the rumour of the elite being held back for Limited Editions has done its rounds, maybe this time they will do it as the economy isn't doing so well and it will help sales of the premiums and arcades..

  10. #10
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pyro_maniac View Post
    no mate, you need to register and send off for one
    i got mine after a couple of weeks
    dont know why they cant include it in the elite box, its a pain but you can always just plug your 20gb one and use that till the cable turns up
    Hmm, that is daft that it's not included in the box - especially as, I'm assuming, it's free?

    Quote Originally Posted by Big-Pete View Post
    As Steve said above, you'll need to register, but to do so you'll need the s/n off the elite..
    Ah, so I can't pre-register to get it beforehand - ah well. Makes sense I 'spose if the cable is free - so they know you're eligible for it. As pyro said, I can just use the 20Gb drive with all my saved data on it until the cable arrives.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Onlive...The death of consoles?
    By markone in forum Games Room
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 19th August 2011, 02:06
  2. For Sale: PS2 Consoles/Games/Accessories
    By Tam80 in forum General items for sale
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18th May 2011, 19:37
  3. Replies: 28
    Last Post: 20th March 2009, 08:53
  4. classic game consoles???
    By big rich in forum How much is it worth? (THIS SECTION IS NOW CLOSED)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 18th February 2009, 08:32
  5. microsoft
    By jonno_07 in forum Comedy & Humour
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th May 2006, 23:28

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •