Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

Unhappy Rear wheel problem

Hello all,

Tonight i was driving from dundee to glenrothes, just as i entered glenrothes i heard a grinding noise from the rear, was only going there to pick up a fish tank, so told the brother who was in the car with me " sack this lets get back home " turned car around and the grinding noise got extremely loud and i could feel it through the steering wheel. Got out the car had a look, the rear disc was scored heavily and there was a burning smell.

I had to taxi it into town only to find no buses run to dundee after seven, this was half seven, so bus to train station then train to dundee, then taxi home, forty quid out of pocket, what a disaster! lol.

Can somebody shine some light on what this could be? i am a novice at cars, i'm thinking back disc needs replaced and shoes? is this an easy job could i do it? what tools would i need and what parts?

The car is an vectra dti 2.0 03 has bog standard 5 spoke alloys, any help would be greatly appreciated as it is sitting in some street i dont know and really need to get it back on the road.

If anybody is in glenrothes and fancy's a few beer tokens and would like to supervise a car beginner, i'm your man.

Problems Posted
    Problems Solved
    Best Answers
    Good Answers
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

Nobody answered the above, my car is still stranded so would anybody be able to tell me if its possible to remove the back right caliper, so the brake doesn't grind and still get me home to dundee to my brother's mechanic?

Will the other brakes still work? getting this motor by hook or crook to dundee tomorrow so if someone could give advice would be appreciated.

Problems Posted
    Problems Solved
    Best Answers
    Good Answers
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)