User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35

Thread: Seagate/Maxtor

  1. #1
    On a Sabbatical VauxVeteran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Nicking Ya Dinner.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Seagate/Maxtor

    If you've bought a drive in the last 8 mths there is a good chance it's gonna fail unless you update it's firmware pdq, sadly the first I knew of it was when I came down and found it rebooted with drive not found message, if you need to check your model go to Seagate and there is a checker, drives effected are Diamondmax 22's and most of the ST Seagate ones.
    Last edited by VauxVeteran; 6th March 2009 at 05:20.

  2. #2
    Regular Member solorider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    swindon
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 2.0cdti 160bhp

    Year : 2010

    Mileage : 92274

    Default

    thankfully i bought a samsung drive,i was looking at a seagate drive which was on ebay but decided to buy localy

  3. #3
    Regular Member steve1975l's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Surrey
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    This one?
    http://seagate.custkb.com/seagate/cr...p?DocId=207931

    I hope you didn't lose too much?

    We just had a server drive go down after a power cycle luckily we mirror onto another drive. I will take a look as to the make. Thanks.

  4. #4
    On a Sabbatical VauxVeteran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Nicking Ya Dinner.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by steve1975l View Post
    This one?
    http://seagate.custkb.com/seagate/cr...p?DocId=207931

    I hope you didn't lose too much?

    We just had a server drive go down after a power cycle luckily we mirror onto another drive. I will take a look as to the make. Thanks.

    That's it, don't let the checker fool you, it's been saying model number effected, and serial number not to some ppl, anyway better to be aware than in the dark like I was until it was too late, 450 gigs down the pan unless I can get hold of the gear to flash it through terminal, I have no idea what has happened to this company, I always swore by Maxtor's and it's really a shame to see this ruin their name, my Samsung Spinpoint's seem ok, WD I wouldn't touch again as they seem to be bad sector magnet's, anyway anyone wanna £60 paperweight cheap?

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Belfast
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Seagate will fix the drive if it's under warranty I think - you send it back and they sort the firmware and unbrick the drive.

  6. #6
    Regular Member Flaninacupboard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Wellingborough
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Hmm, glad i opted for the samsung 1tb drives then, it's really hard to backup your stuff when you have 5tb of storage

  7. #7
    On a Sabbatical VauxVeteran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Nicking Ya Dinner.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by _ZS_ View Post
    Seagate will fix the drive if it's under warranty I think - you send it back and they sort the firmware and unbrick the drive.
    Partly true, from whats written on their forums they send you out a refurbished older spec drive, the effected ones are 7200.11 ones and ppl have been getting a 7200.9 back with no data, there is a homebrew method to restore the drive without destroying the drive, but the cost is about £30 for leads and a RX board to enable comms with the drive.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Belfast
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Ah, fair enough. I have 4 of the 1TB Seagates, got them upgraded before they died. 3 of them are in a RAID 5 array. I initially had Samsungs, but they wouldn't work with my RAID card for some reason.

    Still a big fan of Western Digital myself, been using them pretty much constantly since around 2002 with no problems. Didn't go with them this time as they were far too expensive compared to the Seacrates.

  9. #9
    Regular Member Flaninacupboard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Wellingborough
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    WD are normally pretty reliable. i set up an 8 drive array in 2005, lost one of the WD's in 2007. when i wanted to put the TB drives in the samsungs were a lot cheaper, but also are quieter than the WD's they replaced.

    Annoying thing is now the 2tb drives are here i wish i'd waited! well i guess i can go with 4 1tb and 4 2tb, 12tb should keep me going for a while...

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Belfast
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I've my old PC set up with FreeNAS, 2TB RAID5 array and a 250GB RAID1. My PC only has a 150GB Velociraptor in it, with nothing stored there. Laptop has nothing stored on it either. The laptop has a WD Scorpio Blue 5400rpm in it, and my work PC had a WD Velociraptor and a 500GB Caviar Black in it. Surrounded by WD.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. For Sale: Seagate 320gb Internal Hard Drive
    By Knight Rider in forum General items for sale
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd October 2012, 12:48
  2. For Sale: seagate freeagent external hard drive
    By stuart bigboy in forum General items for sale
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9th August 2012, 13:31

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •