User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Thinking Of Putting An After Market Head In - Think Again ( May Be )

  1. #1
    Regular Member ccsnet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    The local dealers if driving my old Vectra
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Thinking Of Putting An After Market Head In - Think Again ( May Be )

    http://www.vectra-c.com/forum/showpo...6&postcount=74

    This may affect others at some point and while I am convinced it was not the cause of the origional mechanical problem with the gear box I am sure its caused the long running issue with programing the ECUs.

    Feel free to read the whole thread but the short version is I removed all my kit last week and replaced the OEM head. After that the local garage was able to reprograme the ECUs which they where unable to do up until then.

    The reason.... according to the Vauxhall 'flying doctor' from Luton the head actually is also an ECU ( not just the display ) and with out it some of the other ECUs can loose their SN / Chassiy numbers ( a known problem by all accounts ).

    Now I have not been able to get this in writing ( although I will try ) and I have not been able to talk to the Vx guy directly my self but I spose its plausable.

    On that basis say in 20 years time there is an ECU issue and your original head is long gone you may end up throwing the car away as a result. You may laugh but running through with the local engineer he said in that case you'd have to buy another head.... been 20 years on it would be good luck if you did - never mind one tech2ed out correctly.

    So if you have a Veccy ( and I recon this is a face lift thing been fully canbus ) be warned....

    I'm lucky - this is warrenty work others may not be.

    Can any one find a way to confirm this ?

    Terran

  2. #2
    Regular Member Flaninacupboard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Wellingborough
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Make sense, the headunit does play a role in swapping data between the mid and low speed sections of the network. not sure why a module would "forget" data (i would have thought they use non volatile memory for such things as chassis number) but no longer being able to fully communicate with the network to fetch the info would be a problem.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. After market head unit
    By Bigpimpinpete in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd July 2012, 23:25
  2. Thinking of changing CD70 for after market Double Din
    By rollercoaster63 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th August 2011, 09:55
  3. Installing an after market head unit
    By !tf in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10th April 2011, 17:06
  4. After Market Head - FM Connection ( To amp or not to amp )
    By ccsnet in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 30th October 2008, 12:18
  5. im putting in my old alpine head unit just wondering if it will affect anything
    By EURO G in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 29th March 2008, 23:21

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •