User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 44

Thread: Problem with tuning box!

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Problem with tuning box!

    Just had a problem with the box. I'd had my tuning box working perfectly for about a week, but decided to turn it up a bit to see if I could get any improvement.
    So last Sunday I decided to turn it up a turn or 2. I turned it up another 2 turns and it was running fine and felt even quicker. Now on Monday i was making a trip to London for work. Half an hour into the journey the car stopped going into the forward gears, meaning gears 1, 3 and 5. It just would not go into them at all. The backward gears were perfectly fine. I was on the motorway so i was it wasn't too bad.
    Half way into the journey i stopped and turned it down to its previous setting and 1 turn lower and set off. But it still wouldn't go into the forward gears. When i got to work in London I took the box completely off and all the gears worked again thankfully.
    Now whenever i put the box on the car doesn't go into the forward gears. I need to try turning it down even further however it was working fine on this setting for a full week.
    Has anyone experienced this before and why is it happening?
    Thanks for the help guys,
    Rich

  2. #2
    Regular Member Steven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Dalriada
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    very strange

    i cant get my head round as to why the box would affect the gearbox??

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yeah, I thought so too. Strange that it is fine when i take it off. You'd think if the gearbox was malfunctioning it would be permanent, but its not. Anybody else any ideas why this might be happening?

  4. #4
    Admin plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    272 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default

    Isnt April 1st over and done with?

  5. #5
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Failsworth, Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I'm mystified mate. A tuning box doesn't effect the gearbox at all.

  6. #6
    Ex-Staff Full Member ian_c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : i500

    Trim : i500

    Engine : V6 3.0CDTi

    Year : 2005

    Default

    no i have not here of that before but

    what type of box is it

    is it plug and play

    is it hard wired in with spade connecters

    there could be a problem with the loom

  7. #7
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    The only reasons a manual box would not select the 'front' gears but will still select the 'back' gears can only be adjustment of the linkage or engine mounts allowing the engine to move too far thus lenghtening the travel required to select the gears..The 'front' gears rely on the linkage coming far enough backwards from the gearbox, whereas the 'back' gears push the linkage forward..

    I don't think you can blame this one on the tuning box..It has no connection to the manual boxes..I think it's time to pay the Stealers a visit

  8. #8
    Ex Vec-C Admin & Founder Bainie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    60 Degrees North !!
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    If the problem is replicated by putting the box on, and isn`t hthere when it`s off it is clearly the box. I would suggest it has something to do with our old freind canbus ? Doers seem very strange though I thought at least the gearbox wasn`t fly by wire ??

  9. #9
    Regular Member The Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    'Norf Yorks.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Sounds like a mis-aligned gearbox linkage to me.

    Though I stand to be corrected as that gearbox is purely a mechanical system. No electronic shifter or anything!!!

  10. #10
    On a Sabbatical
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Failsworth, Manchester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I'd put money on it that it's not the tuning box. All the box does is ask the ECU to send more fuel to the common rail, the gearbox has nothing to do with it.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Problem fitting tuning box
    By 2.2 oil burner in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 5th December 2010, 20:15
  2. DTUK Tuning Box Problem
    By 2ltrT in forum General Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd May 2008, 21:48
  3. Strange Radio Tuning Problem
    By sophos9 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 25th November 2007, 22:45
  4. tuning box problem
    By john barnes in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1st December 2006, 12:03
  5. Tuning Boxes - Problem power?
    By Andy in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 56
    Last Post: 21st September 2006, 17:00

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •