User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Tech2 unit, aka ODB2

  1. #1
    Admin plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    337 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default Tech2 unit, aka ODB2

    Evening guys/girls. Been doing some digging on this tech2 unit and i appear to be able to get the connector lead/software package to be able to read/reset fault codes plus the other stuff Vx garages can do. Any advices on this before i pay £180 for the packages.

    May be of benefit to others if we have a group unit

  2. #2
    Admin plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    337 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default

    Ordered this unit now. Heres the link for it http://www.onboarddiagnostics.co.uk/...art/Itemid,39/

    Gonna use this to clear and check my fault codes. So if anyones near me and needs to check fault codes they'll be more than welcome to come here and check them. Although i recommend VX for stuff still under warranty.

    I overfuelled my poor ole car with the CR2 and its got a fault logged now which is why i'm buying it. to clear and also cause i like gadgets to play. Bet AJA's ear pick up a bit now

  3. #3
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    OOHH...

    Can you write to the car with it or is it read only..Been looking at CAN enabled packages to run from the laptop..Need to change my scanner by a new one and the CAN module is too much for the use it'll get put to..

  4. #4
    Admin plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    337 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default

    If u can erase the fault codes i'd safely say u can write to it.

  5. #5
    Regular Member The Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    'Norf Yorks.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Reset is different to writing to the ECU map if that is what you mean.

  6. #6
    Admin plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    337 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default

    u could be right. Writing to the ECU map would scare me, I'd be happy to just reset fault codes. Gonna have another look at the webpage.

  7. #7
    Regular Member The Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    'Norf Yorks.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    ECU map is kept on one chip if you see what I mean, and is highly encrypted. Though obviously not invincible!

    Reset codes are elsewhere if you see what mean.

    Can't explain very well, wine talking tonight at the mo.

  8. #8
    Admin plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    337 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default

    Carling black label talking here Yeah i can. Another area of the ECU which is write protected/encrypted as u say. I can see how it can work. I think i vaguely recall something about a proper setup costing about £2500 or so to be able to write to the ECUs properly.

  9. #9
    Regular Member Gsi3.2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Technical directors office
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Yeah.. that's what the spend was going to have to be..

    I think i'll keep looking into laptop based systems for now..

  10. #10
    Admin plasma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On the Forum
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    337 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra

    Trim : SRi

    Engine : 150

    Year : 05

    Mileage : 74000

    Default

    What you looking to do with full access to the ECU map? bit of home tweeking?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Tech2 unit CHEAP
    By AntSSSS in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 12th January 2013, 08:08
  2. Santa Brought me a ODB2 code reader.
    By vmb2722 in forum North West (RO - Paulvectrac, ARO bonehead)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 31st December 2012, 19:03
  3. ODB2 communication error
    By wayne1000 in forum Vectra C / Signum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12th January 2012, 16:33
  4. ODB2 Codes P0614 P0616
    By duncmill in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21st October 2009, 13:23
  5. Tech2 DIY Unit
    By the-ferret in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5th April 2008, 19:00

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •