User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Fitting satnav

  1. #1
    Regular Member declanswan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Leeds/tadcaster
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Fitting satnav

    Sorry if this has been asked umpteen times before but........my mates gone and took out his factory satnav out from his 2006 vectra(written off) and now says i can have it for £150, only thing is, is it worthless as its not been tech2'd out of the donor car??? I thought for £150 it was a good price or is it now just worthless?? Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    If he took the unit and screen out then as long as you fit both of those in your car then it won't need a Tech 2. Obviously you'd need the GPS aerial and even then I'm not sure if it is as simple as fitting all those.

    If it's just the unit he's taken out without a Tech 2 then it's a doorstop - completely useless. He'd need to put it backin his car and get it Tech 2'd out.

  3. #3
    Regular Member declanswan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Leeds/tadcaster
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Cheers mate, yeah, the screen and unit are out. Do you know if its a b@llache to fit everything, bearing in mind i aint no auto electrician!!!

  4. #4
    Admin & Merchandise Manager bigmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Devon
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    72 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : insignia

    Trim : irmscher

    Engine : 2.0 cdti

    Year : 2009

    Default

    Think a few have retro fitted them with a GPRS antenna off ebay merikitto is the best to ask

  5. #5
    Regular Member 900ss's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Bucks
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by declanswan View Post
    Do you know if its a b@llache to fit everything, bearing in mind i aint no auto electrician!!!
    Goes straight in assuming you have the lead to connect the screen and head unit
    Aerial lead can be had for a tenner from ebay or other.
    No mods required except to route the aerial lead under trim to the boot.
    Aerial is magnetic so simply sticks to the inner rear quater area

  6. #6
    Regular Member declanswan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Leeds/tadcaster
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks alot lads

  7. #7
    Regular Member 3.2_V6_VXR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    S.Wales, Nr Swansea
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    hi mate, i retro fitted the cd70 sat nav system into my new car, i used this antenna as i didnt have the loom in my roof lining.

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/External-SMB-F...wItem#MRLOCATE

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. SatNav
    By gavmckay in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 18th September 2012, 13:54
  2. fitting a garmin satnav in place of cd30 gid screen?
    By Jow20 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 13th February 2012, 23:07
  3. satnav let me down again!
    By PeterVV in forum General Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24th December 2009, 18:19
  4. Fitting 2nd hand Vectra C satnav (I don't have any codes)
    By chodecz in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 14th November 2009, 18:48

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •