User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Bid / gid / cid

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Leeds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Bid / gid / cid

    Hi - got a 2008 SRi with the basic CD30 & BID display and been trying to find out if it's possible to upgrade from a Board Information Display (BID) to either Graphical OR Colour Information Display GID / CID but not found to many threads about this.

    Anyone any experience of doing this or know whether if its possible, are there any advantages to it, will it even work?

    First things that spring to mind are, does the display need to be TECH2'd. And do these usually get sold with the radio / CD - unlikely to find just the display for sale?

    Any help / info would be appreciated.

    J.

  2. #2
    Moderator & Events Assistant paulhb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wondering lonely as a cloud
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : M5

    Trim : Nothing needs adding

    Engine : 5.0 V10

    Year : 07

    Mileage : 37000

    Default

    The GID will work and it is a lot better than the BID but the CID only works with the CDC40 and CDC70 on the full canbus cars.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Leeds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks - do you know if that's a straight swap for the GID or does it need to be TECH2'd as well?

  4. #4
    Moderator & Events Assistant paulhb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wondering lonely as a cloud
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : M5

    Trim : Nothing needs adding

    Engine : 5.0 V10

    Year : 07

    Mileage : 37000

    Default

    Tech 2 m8, the display and the HU have to be partnered just make sure the GID you get has been divorced from its HU or it will be useless to you and anybody else who doesn't have the HU it is actually paired to.
    Last edited by paulhb; 12th February 2009 at 23:24.

  5. #5
    Admin & Merchandise Manager bigmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Devon
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    56 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : insignia

    Trim : irmscher

    Engine : 2.0 cdti

    Year : 2009

    Default

    Or get one from a half canbus 02/03 reg car as these are not paired so you should be able to pop in in ok,all though it may need to be paired with your stereo

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Leeds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks bigmac - one more question, if you do have a HU + display from a donor car does that need to be tech2'd out and in as well? I'm a little confused about this as I've read threads on here where people say as long as the HU + display are paired, ie. removed from the same car then you can just install them as a pair in a new car and it will work just fine??

    J.

  7. #7
    Moderator & Events Assistant paulhb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wondering lonely as a cloud
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : M5

    Trim : Nothing needs adding

    Engine : 5.0 V10

    Year : 07

    Mileage : 37000

    Default

    It is not that simple as the displays are different from pre-facelift to facelift certainly on the CID check any part numbers first before parting with your cash.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Leeds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Fair enough - if we were talking strictly facelift / full canbus as mine is would my statement about tech2 be right?

  9. #9
    Regular Member sig63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Opel Insignia

    Trim : Cosmo

    Engine : 2.0 CDTI

    Year : 2011

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by julian924s View Post
    if you do have a HU + display from a donor car does that need to be tech2'd out and in as well? I'm a little confused about this as I've read threads on here where people say as long as the HU + display are paired, ie. removed from the same car then you can just install them as a pair in a new car and it will work just fine??
    yes, as long as you don't have the phone kit or ECC.
    And, if a problem would emerge, it will not be possible to cure it because access via Tech2 to the non original set wil be impossible

  10. #10
    Regular Member big rich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    birmingham
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra gsi

    Trim : Full heated leather

    Engine : 3200

    Year : 2004

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bigmac View Post
    Or get one from a half canbus 02/03 reg car as these are not paired so you should be able to pop in in ok,all though it may need to be paired with your stereo
    as i did with no problems

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Visitors found this page by searching for:

vectra c gid to cid

opel vectra c gid to cid

gid opel

opel vectra c cidgid backlight

vectra gid vs bid display

update from bid to cid

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •