User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: new display

  1. #1
    Regular Member lee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    northwest
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default new display

    hello all just looking for a bit of advice i have the chance of getting a second hand colour display for my car the original is a gid the new one is a cid colour screen [think its a cid] anyway i have pluged it in and the radio controles work and the display shows time and radio station but the screen pops up and displays SAFE is this because its in delivery mode and needs tech2 ing in or is it locked and will not be able to be tech2d in

    lee

  2. #2
    Regular Member n_hudson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Northampton, UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    What years your car? I'm having the SAME issue with mine, it works fine but flash's Display Safe every few seconds. It seem's that, after talking to VX, that the Screen will need pairing to the new stereo/car via Tech2 but they will also need your car pass number. This goes for Full or Half Canbus cars. The Car pass is a 4 digit code that should be with your leather car manuals pack. The code is £21.49 with Vat from the dealer and takes around a week to get.

    See my post here -

    http://www.vectra-c.com/forum/showth...004#post824004

  3. #3
    Regular Member kenp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kr. Hyllinge, Denmark
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C


    Engine : 2.2 Direct

    Year : 2004

    Default

    why it writes safe can be either... (needs tech2 or locked because wasnt tech2 out of donor car)

  4. #4
    Admin & Merchandise Manager bigmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Devon
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    70 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : insignia

    Trim : irmscher

    Engine : 2.0 cdti

    Year : 2009

    Default

    I thought as long as the screen was from a half canbus car your wouldn't need tech2 as these screens are not coded to the radio,different if it was from a full canbus as screens are paired

  5. #5
    Regular Member n_hudson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Northampton, UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kenp View Post
    why it writes safe can be either... (needs tech2 or locked because wasnt tech2 out of donor car)
    Oh, I didnt know that. Is that for Full or Half Canbus?

  6. #6
    Regular Member lee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    northwest
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    thanks for your replys the car is a 05 full canbus
    the screen was on until i pressed the button to go into the menu thats when it displayed SAFE
    this is what i need to know. (needs tech2 so it can talk to the car) or locked because wasnt tech2 out of donor car)

    thanks
    lee

  7. #7
    Regular Member kenp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kr. Hyllinge, Denmark
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C


    Engine : 2.2 Direct

    Year : 2004

    Default

    a 05 model like Lee is fullcanbus. dont know about n_hudson.. as a 04 model can be both..

    my local "stealer" say the screen needs paring to the car.. (i havnt changed screen so dont know for sure)

  8. #8
    Regular Member lee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    northwest
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    thanks mate
    just rang a few vauxhall dealers and none of them know what to do for sure. i spoke to the service manager at each dealers they say it will need tech2ing in but they dont know about the safe on the display ie (needs tech2 so it can talk to the car) or locked because wasnt tech2 out of donor car)
    they dont know about the above in brackets.
    one said flip a coin and take a chance

    lee

  9. #9
    Regular Member lee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    northwest
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    just an update
    i spoke to a very helpfull chap called eddie holmes who is a specialist in vauxhall programming tech2
    he said like kenp its either not been tech2d out of the doner car or it needs tech2ing in to the new car. but there is no way of knowing until you try to put it into your new car. so you could buy one and then pay for the tech2 and it still wont work.
    looks like we have to put a lot of trust in the people we buy from or else we may endup buying a brick
    lee

  10. #10
    Regular Member n_hudson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Northampton, UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lee View Post
    just an update
    i spoke to a very helpfull chap called eddie holmes who is a specialist in vauxhall programming tech2
    he said like kenp its either not been tech2d out of the doner car or it needs tech2ing in to the new car. but there is no way of knowing until you try to put it into your new car. so you could buy one and then pay for the tech2 and it still wont work.
    looks like we have to put a lot of trust in the people we buy from or else we may endup buying a brick
    lee
    Do you think that goes with Half-Canbus cars too? When I went in, they seemed to think they could "de-code" mine, but they needed my car code to pair it with my stereo. Was yours from a CD70 or something?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replacing Board Info Display (BID) with Color Info display (CID)
    By grigs1 in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: 11th April 2012, 22:13
  2. mp3 on display
    By marc vectra sri in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th August 2011, 14:54
  3. PS3 display
    By @ndy-e in forum Games Room
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th December 2010, 08:21
  4. temp display on radio display
    By MRunMotorsport in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th April 2010, 15:55
  5. LED DIsplay
    By dcraigen in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18th September 2008, 10:16

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •