User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Trip computer with CD30 and GID

  1. #1
    Regular Member blakewp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    huddersfield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default Trip computer with CD30 and GID

    Ive fitted a GID in place of the basic display and now have trip computer .. wahey..
    it flashes display safe every few seconds, but i assume thats just a pairing issue with the head unit and a trip to vauxhall will sort it.

    My problem now, is I do not have ANY steering wheel controls fitted, and im stumped if i can find anyway of controlling the computer other than just pressing the BC button on the cd30.

    Do i need to add the steering controls to be able to use the trip comp ?

    I also get a warning about washer fluid level which i cant seem to accept (OK) i was thinking about adding the sensor in after a search on it, but is it just going to moan about something else it doesnt have a sensor for ?

  2. #2
    Regular Member cameraman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Leicester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    My BC works off the audio controls on the steering wheel, what model doesn't have any steering wheel controls?, thought they were standard across the range, I can use the centre dial on my CDC40 to control the BC, not much use to you though as it's your volume

  3. #3
    Regular Member blakewp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    huddersfield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Mines a 'breeze' model, a not very special special edition
    I was suprised when i got the functions up straight away though.
    I tried the rotary knob and just went up/down volume.

    Does the rotary knob on other models control BC functions then ?

  4. #4
    Regular Member sig63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Opel Insignia

    Trim : Cosmo

    Engine : 2.0 CDTI

    Year : 2011

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by blakewp View Post
    Mines a 'breeze' model, a not very special special edition
    I was suprised when i got the functions up straight away though.
    I tried the rotary knob and just went up/down volume.

    Does the rotary knob on other models control BC functions then ?
    Other models do use the rotary knob, but with the CD30 you can use the steering wheel controls or the 4-arrow buttons.

    I hope for you that the GID has been tech2 out of the donor car otherwise "a trip to Vauxhall" will not sort this and the 'display safe' message won't disappear.... while you are there, ask them to disable the check-control functions.

  5. #5
    Regular Member blakewp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    huddersfield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    The GID was tech2 out, im assuming the display safe flashing up says its in 'delivery' mode, it does flash up then disappear.
    Il try the arrow buttons, i thought i had but it kept chaning radio station.

    Anyone know how much the steering wheel controls would be from VX ?

  6. #6
    Regular Member solorider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    swindon
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by blakewp View Post
    The GID was tech2 out, im assuming the display safe flashing up says its in 'delivery' mode, it does flash up then disappear.
    Il try the arrow buttons, i thought i had but it kept chaning radio station.

    Anyone know how much the steering wheel controls would be from VX ?
    without being able to look on epc there is a chance the cim maybe different,the only way to confirm if it is the same or different is to look it up,a trip to your local dealer may be on the cards before getting the radio programed.

    as to steering wheel controls the expression model never had steering wheel controls,as the breeze is based on the expression that doesnt get them either

  7. #7
    Regular Member cameraman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Leicester
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by blakewp View Post
    Anyone know how much the steering wheel controls would be from VX ?
    Don't know but I sold a set for £10 on e-bay recently, but then there's the wiring

  8. #8
    Regular Member blakewp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    huddersfield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Im kinda hoping that the wiring is all in place, just requireing the module.

    Anyone know if that is the case ?

  9. #9
    Admin & Merchandise Manager bigmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Devon
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    56 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : insignia

    Trim : irmscher

    Engine : 2.0 cdti

    Year : 2009

    Default

    How did you wire a GID in ? Did you have the 32 pin plug ?

    The controls are about £28 for the 3 button ones i have a spare backing plate for the controls,then all you would need to do is take your airbag off and look to see if you have the wiring there
    I thought the BC worked on the wiper stalk it has buttons on the end like the cruise control stalk

  10. #10
    Regular Member blakewp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    huddersfield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I have been very lucky i think with this, i unplugged the TID ( think its a TID, 2 buttons on the bottom) and plugged the GID staight in.
    I had gone in as an investagatory move, and ended up fitting it.
    The TID had a 32 pin socket on, which I wasnt expecting.
    Turned on the ignition, to find the BC functions all enabled and on !! just cant bl...y use them

    But without the steering controls, ive no idea how to accept the messages that pop up to tell me the roads slippy, just in case i hadnt noticed the inch of snow on my driveway.

    The steering wheel is actually nicer than others i looked at when i was buying the car, it is a stitched leather one but no controlls.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Trip computer
    By marc vectra sri in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 30th April 2012, 15:18
  2. trip computer..
    By djdee in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 18th March 2011, 12:53
  3. Trip Computer / BC
    By NIGHTCD in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 18th April 2010, 16:31
  4. anyone added trip computer/board computer?
    By Craig1985 in forum Troubleshooting
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 24th August 2008, 02:33
  5. CD30 and trip computer
    By philzi in forum Electrical & ICE (including SatNav)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st October 2007, 11:47

Visitors found this page by searching for:

vectra c accessing trip computer without cd30

vauxhall zafira cd30 trip computer

vectra c custom audio trip computer

fitting trip computer to vectra c

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •