User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Formatting Suse 10

  1. #1
    Regular Member leeds vectra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Leeds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia

    Trim : VX-Line

    Engine : BiTurbo

    Year : 2014

    confused Formatting Suse 10

    I need a bit advice from you computer gurus on here. I am currently running Suse 10 on my HP Mini Note. It came pre installed with Suse and I have to say I hate it.

    I am wanting to install either XP or Windows 7 (which I have downloaded the beta). I have made it bootable on a usb flash stick.

    I have tried to completley wipe the hard drive with the Windows 7 install but it won't wipe one of the partitions.

    Any advice on this much appreciated.

    Paul.
    Last edited by leeds vectra; 24th January 2009 at 16:32.

  2. #2
    Regular Member 67688c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    In UK
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Use Delpart.exe

    http://www.russelltexas.com/delpart.htm

    Used it many times with success, you will need to fdisk again afterwards.

  3. #3
    Regular Member lofty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    @home
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Vectra C Estate

    Trim : Elite

    Engine : 1.9 CDTi


    Default

    Why don't you like it?? It's not running in that Icon mode is it?

    Did you get a Linux disk with the laptop? Linux boot disks can clean partitions as well..

  4. #4
    Regular Member leeds vectra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Leeds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia

    Trim : VX-Line

    Engine : BiTurbo

    Year : 2014

    Default

    It's shat Roy! Didn't get any disc's with it. I have managed to install Windows 7 beta on it but it looks like windows has partitioned the hard drive and left Suse on the other bit.

    Could do with removing Suse of the other bit now?

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Leeds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    I suspect that Windows is "seeing" the other O/S and assuming you might want to dual boot, and thus just install Windows on a free partition or resize the current partition(s). Booting from any distro of Linux or even Windows should give you the option to manually partition / layout the drive - if you do this then you can manually delete ALL the partitions - bearing in mind this will completely trash everything you have on the drive. Then just let the Windows installer layout the drive as it wishes - I suspect just one big fat partition.

    J.

  6. #6
    Regular Member leeds vectra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Leeds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia

    Trim : VX-Line

    Engine : BiTurbo

    Year : 2014

    Default

    Thanks for the reply J. How do I go about formatting then?

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Leeds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Hi - it *should* be the same as you did before BUT when Windows XP / 7 partitions the drive it will need manual intervention - ie. don't just click Next. It's been a long time since I installed XP but there is a section where it asks about where Windows is going to be installed, you need to examine the drive and DELETE any partitions currently configured. If your running SUSE then it may well have atleast 2 partitions already, 1 for SWAP and 1 for the SUSE Linux filesystem. These need to be removed and atleast a single Windows NTFS partition created.

    Here's links to a couple of Microsoft docs for installing XP or 7 beta.

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/316941
    http://www.microsoft.com/windows/win...tructions.aspx

    Suse isn't bad but SUSE 10 is a bit old skool now - it's now openSUSE 11.1 and the beauty of these is there still free.

    Thanks - J.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Leeds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    And just seen this article which gives you a step by step guide for XP. Skip to "How to partition and format the hard disk using the Windows XP Setup program" and point "g" in particular.

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/313348

    J.

  9. #9
    On a Sabbatical VauxVeteran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Nicking Ya Dinner.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    When the XP disc loads and you arrive at the choices menu, delete the existing partition and then make a new one, format and load away, hth.

    Failing that if you can find out who made the HD they should have a utility to use, Seagate is Seatools, Maxtor is Maxblast etc.

  10. #10
    Regular Member leeds vectra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Leeds
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : Insignia

    Trim : VX-Line

    Engine : BiTurbo

    Year : 2014

    Default

    This is the problem VV, Windows wont recognise and deal with the Suse partition, I don't have a disc drive on the netbook so I'm having to make bootable usb flash pens. I have managed to get Windows 7 beta to load to it's own partition on the hard drive but it's left part of Suse on the other partition.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Camera, formatting sd card problem
    By badback in forum The 'Off Topic' room
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 24th December 2010, 18:38

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •