User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: defrost settings

  1. #1
    Regular Member effone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bedfordshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default defrost settings

    is it possible to change the default value of the fan speed when you switch on the defrost button?

    currently is goes to '6' when i press this... if i set it to 1, when i jump back into the car it goes back to '6' again, which isn't always what i want first thing in the morning!!

    cheers,

    ian b

  2. #2
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Not adjustable by you, maybe by Tech 2. Why would you want to change it though? The idea is that you use it when you want to clear the screen as quickly as possible.

  3. #3
    Regular Member effone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bedfordshire
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Duncan View Post
    Not adjustable by you, maybe by Tech 2. Why would you want to change it though? The idea is that you use it when you want to clear the screen as quickly as possible.
    understood, but sometimes you want it on slowly just to stop it fogging up when you're driving...

    i know you can set it to screen only, but i prefer to leave things alone and just use this to keep things clear as i'm tooling along

    ian b

  4. #4
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If you want a slower speed then your only way would be, as you say, to adjust the speed manually and then manually adjust it to screen only.

  5. #5
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Duncan View Post
    If you want a slower speed then your only way would be, as you say, to adjust the speed manually and then manually adjust it to screen only.
    Not 100% true, I was playing with mine one cold morning and when on defrost I can change the fan speed. I forgot and left it on 7 and that was what it was on the next time I used it, although that was on the same journey. Not sure if it would stay on the new setting after a restart.
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  6. #6
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yep, but when you turn the dial and the fan speed changes does it definitely stay on defrost setting? i.e. does the light stay lit and the airflow still direct it all to the screen?

    We are talking about the defrost button along with Climate Control here aren't we? At least I was. I don't know how the defrost button works in conjunction with normal AC and the knobs that you manually turn for air flow direction.

  7. #7
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Right, just been out and checked. It stays on defrost if you reduce the fan from 6 to 2 etc but goes back to 6 when turned off and on again. You do seem able to set it to 7 and it stays there when turned off and on.

    Duncan, all V6's (and all elites) have CC unless they are ex Police stock. :

    Not sure on the A/C models
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  8. #8
    [Ex]Admin Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Sussex
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Big Sig View Post
    Duncan, all V6's (and all elites) have CC unless they are ex Police stock. :
    lol, I hadn't looked at his profile.
    Quote Originally Posted by Big Sig View Post
    Right, just been out and checked. It stays on defrost if you reduce the fan from 6 to 2 etc but goes back to 6 when turned off and on again. You do seem able to set it to 7 and it stays there when turned off and on.
    I knew that if you turned it off and back on again it reverted back to the 6, but I was convinced that when you turned the fan speed dial it flicked the defrost light off - obviously not! My lesson for today!

  9. #9
    Full Member Big Sig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Is a very naughty boy
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Duncan View Post
    lol, I hadn't looked at his profile. I knew that if you turned it off and back on again it reverted back to the 6, but I was convinced that when you turned the fan speed dial it flicked the defrost light off - obviously not! My lesson for today!
    I didn't look at his profile but he stated fan speed 6, the A/C models only go to four. I only found this out my mistake when sat waiting for the inside of my screen to defrost! You know, get bored, push buttons to amuse yourself
    Now I need a turbo to keep up!

  10. #10
    Regular Member solorider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    swindon
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    StatsVehicle Info
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Big Sig View Post
    Duncan, all V6's (and all elites) have CC unless they are ex Police stock. :

    Not sure on the A/C models
    not true,i had a v6 cdti and that had normal a/c,looking in the brochure only the elite and gsi have CC

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Torque settings
    By Signumv6man in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 26th August 2010, 21:03
  2. wheel settings
    By pmitchell in forum Vectra C / Signum Car Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 19th April 2010, 20:10
  3. tracking settings
    By WHOOSH05 in forum Suspension, Wheels & Brakes
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27th February 2010, 22:31
  4. Torque settings??
    By Griff72 in forum Suspension, Wheels & Brakes
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 4th January 2010, 19:42
  5. NAT settings
    By Guyver1 in forum Games Room
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26th March 2009, 11:36

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •