User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: 2.0 DTi limp mode - driving me mad!

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Chesterfield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default 2.0 DTi limp mode - driving me mad!

    It's a long story but please bear with me.
    I know it's an Astra but the 2003 on models have the Vectra C engine. It confused the Vauxhall parts bloke as having put the VIN into his system, when he called the engine page up, it said Vectra.
    I bought a late 2002 2.0 DTi Astra which was running in limp mode. I paid comfortably under £2k for it so it seemed a good deal. It starts perfectly, just doesn't run right.
    I bought an interface and Vauxcheck. Error codes were P0100 and P0400, MAF and EGR respectively.
    I bought a new MAF and cleaned the EGR, no difference. I bought a vacuum gauge, checked the pump output and the system for leaks, all OK.
    Took the inlet manifold off, cleaned the lower part and replaced the top bit as there were chunks out of the faces, and was talked into buying a new EGR although I was certain there was nothing wrong with the old one. MAF error gone but still P0400.
    The bloke I bought it from had the turbo changed by a mate to try and fix it. I wondered what else he'd changed and got the local stealers to check some part numbers. They reckoned I had the wrong MAF and vacuum solenoids. I bought the correct MAF, swapped the solenoids for scrapyard ones - no difference.
    It starts and the EML comes on after about 10 seconds. It won't rev past about 1500 until it's been running perhaps a minute, then about 2000, keep waiting and eventually the EML goes out and it will rev to about 3750, no more. As soon as I put load on, the EML comes on and it's back in limp mode.
    Apart from getting rid of the MAF error due to the leaky inlet manifold, nothing I've done has made any difference at all.
    I'm tearing my hair out, has anybody got any brainwaves?

  2. #2
    Regular Member rushy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Old School Vectra-C.Com. Residing in sunny Leeds.
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats

    Vehicle : SRi


    Engine : Z22SE (2.2 Petrol)

    Year : 2004

    Mileage : 137000

    Default

    How did you check for leaks. The only real way is pressure testing the boost hoses, its very common for them to leak on the DTi. A pin hole that you can't see will become larger under boost.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Chesterfield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    It was the vacuum system I tested for leaks. The boost hoses I've just squeezed while under pressure. The one from the intercooler to the inlet feels a bit softer than the other one but I can't feel any leaks out of it.

    A mate told me last night of a colleague who had a virtually identical problem on a petrol Subaru. That was the O2 sensor. As far as I know, diesels don't have O2 sensors but presumably there's a sensor of some sort in the exhaust. If there isn't, what works the emissions light?

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    chesterfield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    i noticed you live in chesterfield .
    if ya wanna call by my house i have op-com software on laptop
    you can always try see what errors it shows . also might be more details and can see live info

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Chesterfield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Thanks for the offer but it's SORNed and no MOT so it can't go anywhere.

    I've got Op-com myself but it doesn't work with my interface, it comes up with pin errors, I guess because it's USB and not serial. Vauxcheck works fine but it only shows error codes, not live data.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    chesterfield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ken Edmonds View Post
    Thanks for the offer but it's SORNed and no MOT so it can't go anywhere.

    I've got Op-com myself but it doesn't work with my interface, it comes up with pin errors, I guess because it's USB and not serial. Vauxcheck works fine but it only shows error codes, not live data.
    weird mine usb

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Chesterfield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    You're right, that is weird. I'll try it again during the week.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Chesterfield
    Problems Posted
    0
    Problems Solved
    0
    Best Answers
    0
    Good Answers
    0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Vehicle InfoStats





    Default

    Sussed it. The driver for the interface loads a serial emulator after the usb driver. Op-com doesn't understand that, but because it's there it doesn't see the usb driver either.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Limp mode.... Help
    By jodiexii in forum Y & Z30DT Specific
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2nd July 2012, 09:45
  2. Limp mode help
    By neill in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 20th March 2012, 19:53
  3. limp mode on motorway driving.....driving me crazy!
    By big rich in forum Diesel Engine related
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 27th August 2010, 05:24
  4. Help please!! Limp mode...
    By scrumpus in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 17th April 2010, 07:21
  5. Limp mode or dead mode
    By JSYSH466Y in forum Engine & Drivetrain
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2nd July 2009, 09:46

Visitors found this page by searching for:

Nobody landed on this page from a search engine, yet!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •